Consider the databases linked below to find background articles, or overview articles; these are short articles, chapters, or reports from subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, or almanacs where you can get the basic definition, facts, history, and an overview of issues and debates of a topic in easy-to-read and understand articles.
Be sure to look at the Sample Articles linked below for examples of what these databases house
You can also search your topic in the main search box on the library's homepage. This is Primo One Search and it will point you to articles and resources that are housed inside the library as well as inside the library's databases. As shown in the search below, you can enter in your simple search terms, then limit the results to narrow just to this kind of background article.
(click on image to enlarge)
You can use One Search to search for books in the library's collection or you can search inside the ebook databases directly. Consider the linked information below.
Type in simple keywords or a title to search the collection using the box below (this is the main search box on the library's homepage)
Be sure to limit to Books, then choose the format...
Click on a book title to learn more about the book & find the connecting link or call number.
(click on image to enlarge)
You can also search directly inside the library's ebook databases. Search by title or keyword/topic.
News sources can be a great place to find the current conversation on a topic. Journalists speak to stakeholders who approach the topic from a range of perspectives and write accessible pieces for the general public.
Consider these well-known online news sources below as a place to search for current news articles that are freely available online.
Consider the databases featured below that house newspaper articles from a wide range of publications.
Search Tips:
Look for news, commentary, documentaries, educational videos, and more in multimedia sources.
Be sure to assess each source. Is it informed and reliable?
Note: See the many additional podcasts linked throughout the research guide.
You can easily search for scholarly/academic journal articles in the databases linked below. These databases house other types of articles too, like magazines and newspapers, so it's important that you limit your results by source type to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.
View the Search Tips at the bottom of this page for more details.
Consider the image below which show how to limit to Full Text, to Peer Reviewed (use only if required), and to journal articles (listed as Scholarly Journals or Academic Journals depending on the database).
(Click on images to enlarge)
Use the Holman Library One Search to search in all library resources at once. You may need to go to individual databases for more curated source collections. Academic Search Complete is particularly good at providing useful Subject Terms.
Use the web to find local news, advocacy and other organizations, government agencies, research institutes, international sources, industry, and more.
As always, be sure to assess for reliability.
Limiting the domain of the websites you're searching in Google is one of the quickest ways to narrow your results and find more credible resources quickly! URL domains can be clues to a site's reliability and ownership.
(click on image to enlarge)
Giving credit to others for their ideas, words, images, and other original work is a requirement in academic work and it is ethical behavior in work and in life. Additionally, demonstrating that you have used credible sources, supports your credibility!
Use the link below to find the library's Citations Guide. The guide has info on APA, MLA, and other citation styles.
NoodleTools Citation Generator helps you format citations, keep track of sources, and create an annotated bibliography.
An overview of how to use keywords that capture your research focus effectively in academic databases
