Green River LibGuides: HIST 214 Pacific Northwest History (Norberg): Background Info

Reference Books in Holman Library

Use these reference books in the library or photocopy or scan the sections you need

The American West: A Multicultural Encyclopedia by Robert M. Utley; Dale L Walker
Call Number: 978 A512
ISBN: 0717274217
Publication Date: 1995
Available in Reference Collection--in-library use only
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America by Randall M. Miller
Call Number: 973.03 G816 2009 & online
ISBN: 9780313336997
Publication Date: 2009
4 volumes
Available in Reference Collection--in-library use only -- and online in Gale eBooks
Historical Atlas of the Pacific Northwest: Maps of Exploration and Discovery: British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Yukon by Derek Hayes
Call Number: 979.501 H417h
ISBN: 1570612153
Publication Date: 1999
Reference Collection--in-library use only
The New Encyclopedia of the American West by Howard R. Lamar (editor)
Call Number: 978.003 N532
ISBN: 0300070888
Publication Date: 1998
Reference Collection--in-library use only
Workers in America: A Historical Encyclopedia by Robert E. Weir (editor)
Call Number: 331.0973 W425w 2013
Available online in GVRL
Reference Collection--in-library use only

CLICK the library database links below to access digital reference books and subject encyclopedias
FIRST try a broad search on your topic, such as
- logging
- lumber industry
THEN try narrower searches such as
- logging environment
- logging conservation
- logging economy
- logging disputes

U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Browse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text viewpoint essays, topic overviews, journal articles, news, and statistics. A great place to find evidence to support argumentative essays.

Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference entries, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, podcasts, and images covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers.

First, find important words or concepts (see highlighted words in example below)
Then use those as search words to find other books, journals, videos and websites