Green River LibGuides: ENGL 127 Research Writing: Social Sciences: Find Legislation and Legal Analysis

Find a Range of Resources on the Law

Start with Gale eBooks Law Encyclopedias Collection to find:

Be sure to pay attention to the date of the sources you find.

Gale eBooks: Law & Criminal Justice
Sample Titles: Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (2022), Criminal Justice in America (2021), First Amendment Freedoms (2021), American Prisons and Jails (2019), and much more

Legal Collection (EBSCO)
Provides full-text legal journal articles and full-text law reviews.
LegalTrac (Gale)
Selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers covering federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

bepress: Legal Scholarship Repository
Open access archive of legal and criminal justice sources, many of which are scholarly journal articles or are analysis papers written by legal scholars.
Berkeley Law Scholarship Repository
Features a developing collection of law publications and papers from University of California at Berkeley
Example: A search of "police misconduct" returns 30 articles from the California Law Review, Asian American Law Journal, and others, including "From the Community Lawyers' Lens: The Case of the Quincy 4 and Challenges to Securing Civil Rights for Asian Americans"

Use Google Scholar to find articles about laws and to find the laws themselves.

Choose Case Law to find laws. You can narrow that down to Federal courts or Washington courts (or other states)

(click on image to enlarge)

PRO TIP: Set Google Scholar to check for full text in Holman Library Databases.

Dig Deeper:

Criminal Justice Subject Guide
by Jody Segal Last Updated Dec 11, 2025 588 views this year