It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search the full text of 400 journals in 20 disciplines including Anthropology, Economics, History, Political Science, Sociology, Ecology, Literature, Mathematics, Statistics, and Visual and Performing Arts.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
Resources indexed and housed on the Research Connections site cover a broad spectrum of research on child care and early education and related policies. The collection brings together original research, syntheses, datasets, and other research-related resources from the wide range of social science disciplines and professional fields that study early care and education. Some articles available in full text. Request other articles through the Holman Library Interlibrary Loan Service.
Gather possible search words
use words in your assignment prompts and readings as search words
brainstorm synonyms for search words. Example: hunger = famine, starvation
brainstorm broader search words. Example: a broader search word for "hunger" = food insecurity
brainstorm narrower search words. Example: a narrower search word for "developing countries" = Bangladesh
Strategize: Use different words and different search tools
plan to search in different search tools (try several library databases, the internet..etc.)
in each tool:
First, try broad searches, such as: famine
Then, combine words to narrow and focus searches, such as famine "third world" "genetically modified foods"
(click on image to enlarge)
Combine search words with AND to narrow your search. Example: hunger AND developing countries
Put quotation marks around words to find phrases. Example: "genetically modified foods"
Use OR to find synonyms for words and concepts. Example: hunger OR famine
Option: Click "full text" to limit results to full text articles
Option: Click "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly" to limit results to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles
Video: How to Use Keywords to Form a Research Strategy