Green River LibGuides: OER &amp; Other Free or Low-Cost Resources: Business and Accounting: International Business

Resources for International Business

International Business
Free, online textbook/course, by Alice Bartlett. Some videos included. From Lumens Learning.
International Business
Free, online textbook from Open Textbook Library, Saylor Foundation. Written by Mason A Carpenter and Sanjyot P Dunung.
International Business: Opportunities and Challenges in a Flattening World
Free, online textbook from Saylor Academy.
International Economics: Theory and Policy
Free, online textbook from the Saylor Foundation.
International Finance: Theory and Policy
Free, online textbook from the Open Textbook Library. "International Finance Theory and Policy is built on Steve Suranovic's belief that to understand the international economy, students need to learn how economic models are applied to real world problems. . . . [E]ach model and theory is connected to real world policy issues."

Selected free, online courses and tutorials are listed here.

International Trade (online course)
Free, online course from Saylor Academy.
International Trade (MIT Open Courseware) "Topics covered will include the effects of trade on economic growth and wage inequality, multinationals and foreign direct investment, international trade agreements and current trade policy disputes."
International Finance
Free, online course. 58 videos, with practice questions.
Open economy: international trade and finance
Explanations from the Khan Academy.
Foreign Exchange and Trade
"This tutorial walks through how China's undervaluing of its currency impacts trade and prices (which also fuels cheap borrowing for the U.S.)."
Chinese currency and U.S. debt
"This [Khan Academy] tutorial contains short videos that explain how China and the United States are intertwined through currency and debt. This is key for understanding the current global macro picture."
Bitcoin
Streaming videos from Khan Academy.
Open economy: international trade and finance
Explanations from the Khan Academy.

Selected ebooks in the Holman Library collection.

Terms of Trade: Glossary of international economics by Alan V. Deardorff
Call Number: Ebook. Click on title, above, for link.
ISBN: 9789814518581
Publication Date: 2014
International Economics: Understanding the Forces of Globalization for Managers by Paul Torelli
Call Number: Ebook. Click on title, above, for link.
ISBN: 9781606493526
Publication Date: 2013
Economics for Investment Decision Makers: Micro, macro, and international economics by Christopher D. Piros; Jerald E. Pinto
Call Number: Ebook. Click on title, above, for link.
ISBN: 9781118416334
Publication Date: 2013
The 30 Day MBA in International Business: Your fast track guide to business success by Colin Barrow
Call Number: Ebook. Click on title, above, for link.
ISBN: 0749475439
Publication Date: 2016
Ebook. Click on title, above, for link.
Global Business and Corporate Governance: Environment, Structure and Challenges by John Thanopoulos
Call Number: Ebook. Click on title, above, for link.
ISBN: 1606498657
Publication Date: 2014
Ebook. Click on title, above, for link.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries by Gale Cengage Learning (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook. Click on title, above, for link.
ISBN: 141036321X
Publication Date: 2017
"Chronicles the history, development and current status of the world's most lucrative and high profile industries. Each entry covers size and economic/social impact of the industry; its organization and structure; its history and development; major countries and companies involved (including rankings); size and nature of the work force; and research."
The Practices of Global Ethics : Historical Backgrounds, Current Issues, and Future Prospects by Bird, Frederick, author.; Grelle, Bruce; Pedersen, Kusumita; Twiss, Sumner B.,
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 1-4744-0704-8
Publication Date: 2022
Global Fintech : Financial Innovation in the Connected World by David L. Shrier (Editor); Alex Pentland (Editor) "How the global financial services sector has been transformed by artificial intelligence, data science, and blockchain."
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0262543664
Publication Date: 2022

TradeStats Express
The "latest annual and quarterly trade data," from the U.S. International Trade Administration.
National Statistical Offices
Links compiled by the United Nations Statistics Division.
International Financial Statistics (IFS)
Statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance
Country Commercial Guides
"Market conditions, opportunities, regulations, and business customs for over 125 countries," from the U.S. International Trade Administration.
CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
G20
Official website of the 20 countries that form the G20 international economic group
Library of Congress: Country Studies
The profiles offer brief, summarized information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security.
UN Economic Statistics
Trade, industry and other statistics
World Bank: Data on Countries and Economies
Statistics by topic and country, including world development indicators

Cultural Barriers to International Business
Includes a table illustrating Hofstede's Cultural Dimensions Theory.
TradeStats Express
The "latest annual and quarterly trade data," from the U.S. International Trade Administration.
Balance of Payments Statistics
From the International Monetary Fund (IMF)
US International Trade Commission
The International Trade Commission provides information on tariffs, trade data reports, trade analyses by region and other, and more.
Infobel international telephone directory
Foreign Trading Tips and Advice: Overview of World Trade
Video. Run time: 2 min., 23 sec.
Comparative Advantage and Gains from Trade
Two video lectures, totaling about 13 minutes, from economist Jodie Beggs.