Start with a research article, report, or profile:
Skim the References at the end of the work (or look for interesting mentions to the source in-text) and identify the journal title or publication the reference comes from (the example highlighted in orange below comes from the Journal of Wildlife Management):
Use Holman Library's OneSearch to quickly search the title of the article. Or, if the title is too vague, you can search the journal list to look up the title and browse for the issue of the journal it was published in:
If we have electronic or print access, locate the issue of the journal online or on the shelf:
Once you find the issue, browse the table of contents (print) or results list (electronic) to find the article:
Remember that if you CAN'T FIND the article through Holman Library's collections, you can always request the article by Interlibrary Loan!
Research databases include citation information and abstracts for articles they don't necessarily have the rights to publish in full text. This is useful to you as a researcher!
You may check the box for Full Text only results, but if you leave it unchecked, you will learn about highly relevant articles that you can track down elsewhere, whether in another GRC database or in WorldCat.
To track down a citation:
In your results list, click on Check for Full Text in other sources.
That will either:
Link directly to the article in another Holman Library database
Provide a link to Interlibrary Loan. Click on the Interlibrary Loan link to borrow the article from another library. Articles are generally digitally available and they will be emailed to you quickly.
Be a power researcher and track down articles you find in a works cited list.
To do so, either:
In addition to searching Google Scholar generally, you can use it to find related items -- this can be a great way to discover research that might not appear with your original search terms!
(click on the image to expand)
