Green River LibGuides: NATRS 461 Wildlife Ecology: Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

Different types of publications can help you find specific kinds of information!

Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed or Academic Journals are good to find results of scientific or academic research. These will be research-based, but may be more theoretical, not "how-to" information.
Trade Journals, White Papers (Recommendation Reports) & Professional Books are good for finding news, best practices or recommendations written for practical, "hands-on" application on job-related issues.

All Journals List - Print & Electronic
Search for a journal by its title (leave off "The," "A," "An" at the beginning of titles).
Journal of Forestry
Online full-text access to articles on topics in the forestry field and related disciplines (fire, recreation, soils, wildlife management) back to 1902.

Find Articles in Databases

JSTOR
Find in-depth research and analysis in JSTOR's full text archive of academic journals in all subjects.
ProQuest Combined Databases
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and academic journals
AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports to support agricultural and forestry research.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Search high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Environmental Studies in Context - GREENR (Gale)
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.

Holman Library Databases by Subject
See all of the library's database collections, sorted by subject area. This list is a good place to see the entire list of electronic article resources available in a specific field. You will need to log in with your GRC email address and password to access off-campus.

Holman Library Primo One Search

Use Holman Library One Search

Search for books, articles, audiovisual, and more in Holman Library
Get an overview of information on a subject
Track down citations

Use filters on the left to limit by specific source type, date range, and more.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search the web for peer-reviewed article and book citations. You can use these citations to track down the items at Green River or request them by Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholar and Related Items

In addition to searching Google Scholar generally, you can use it to find related items -- this can be a great way to discover research that might not appear with your original search terms!

(click on the image to expand)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and articles from other libraries using ILL

NATRS 461 Wildlife Ecology

Different types of publications can help you find specific kinds of information!

Find Articles in Databases

Holman Library Primo One Search

Use Holman Library One Search

Using Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar and Related Items

Directions