LibGuides: Template: CJ 101 Introduction to Criminal Justice: Find Current News Media

One Search

You cannot limit to magazines with the library One Search. You can, however, limit to Newspaper Articles.

Please note, additionally, that you may limit by year, but not month or day.

Finding magazine and newspaper articles

Finding Magazines & Newspaper Articles

Find magazine, newspaper, and multimedia news sources on current issues.

Search Tips:

To limit your search to only magazine and/or new articles, select magazines or newspapers at Publication Type.
If you choose newspaper articles, look for substance! Try limiting to cover story or feature for longer articles.

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Database Tutorial: Academic OneFile Advanced Search(Gale)

Or, another option: Go directly to the alternative press

Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.

Search in all library databases at once

Holman Library One Search (Advanced Search)
Use the advanced search options to select source type (books, videos, scholarly peer-reviewed articles), online format, date ranges and more .
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

Sample Magazines for this Project

Atlantic Monthly
Online & in-print | Library periodical collection (2nd floor) or in Academic Search Complete database or ProQuest database
Harpers
Library periodical collection (2nd floor), Academic Search Complete database, ProQuest database, online archive
The Economist
Library periodical collection (2nd floor), ProQuest database
Mother Jones
library periodical collection (2nd floor), Academic Search Complete database, ProQuest database
Newsweek
library periodical collection (2nd floor), Academic Search Complete database, ProQuest database, online
The New Yorker
library periodical collection (2nd floor), ProQuest database, online
Ms.
Ms. magazine "Features articles on a wide variety of women’s issues, U.S. and international news items, sections on health and work life, and opinion pieces."
Time (magazine)
library periodical collection (2nd floor), Academic Search Complete database, online

Why News Sources?

Learn about current issues in criminal justice from credible news sources.

News sources are "non-scholarly," but that does not mean they are bad sources. These are sources that are researched by journalists for the general public, rather than an academic or professional audience.

Unlike scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, news sources generally cover current events and issues.

Editorials and Op-Eds even provide opinion.

Popular news sources are a good place to look if you want to see:

what has happened on an issue
current news and analysis
public opinion and commentary

News - Multimedia

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for films on many topics, such as Anthropology, Biology, Business & Economics, Careers, and many more.

National Public Radio (NPR)
Independent and topical radio news. Be sure to check the long list of programs distributed through NPR.
The World
Current International News Program

Sample Criminal Justice Podcasts

National Public Radio (NPR): Criminal Justice Collaborative
Podcast: The Marshall Project
The Marshall Project is a nonpartisan, nonprofit news organization that seeks to create and sustain a sense of national urgency about the U.S. criminal justice system. We achieve this through award-winning journalism, partnerships with other news outlets and public forums. In all of our work we strive to educate and enlarge the audience of people who care about the state of criminal justice.
The Appeal
The Appeal is a podcast, hosted by Adam Johnson, on criminal justice reform, abolition and everything in between. Each week we will feature fascinating interviews with those covering, working in, and most affected by the American criminal system; from lawyers to activists to reporters to the formerly incarcerated. The Appeal will unpack the latest efforts to shine a light on––and radically rethink––the largest prison state in the world.
ProPublica series: Ignoring Innocence
ProPublica special series on wrongful convictions