LibGuides: Template: CJ 101 Introduction to Criminal Justice: Find Scholarly Articles

Holman Library online databases

Find scholarly sources from Criminal Justice journals.

Use the databases below to search for scholarly articles on criminal justice topics.

Tip: Be sure to limit your search to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, if an option.

And then, beware book reviews! Book reviews in scholarly journals are not scholarly articles and are not appropriate for this assignment.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes: Contemporary Justice Review CJR; Corrections Today; Criminal Justice Ethics; European journal of crime, criminal law, and criminal justice; and more
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Includes: American Journal of Criminal Justice; Corrections Today; Crime, Law, and Social Change; Crime Prevention and Community Safety; European journal on criminal policy and research; and more
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Criminal Justice OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in law, law enforcement, court reporting, forensic science, crime scene investigation and paralegal service.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes: New Criminal Law Review: An International and Interdisciplinary Journal; citations for a handful of other journals. To omit book reviews, I suggest limiting your search to Articles. (Check the box.)
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Includes: International Journal of Criminal Justice Sciences; and a few others

Use the Holman Library One Search to search for peer reviewed and other sources in all of our databases at once.

Start by typing in your search below.

Add more search words with Advanced Search
Search and use the menu to find Peer Reviewed Journals only
Use other limiters on the left to filter your results by date and more

How to find scholarly criminal justice articles in library databases

Criminal justice/Legal archives on the web

Legal Archives Online

You can find some good scholarly criminal justice articles for this assignment on the free web, but remember, the burden of proof rests on you to determine if the article is scholarly.

Be sure to check for date!

The following legal archives on the web offer some free full text content.

Berkeley Law Scholarship Repository
Features a developing collection of law publications and papers from University of California at Berkeley
Example: A search of "police misconduct" returns 30 articles from the California Law Review, Asian American Law Journal, and others, including "From the Community Lawyers' Lens: The Case of the Quincy 4 and Challenges to Securing Civil Rights for Asian Americans"
bepress: Legal Scholarship Repository
Open access archive of legal and criminal justice sources, many of which are scholarly journal articles or are analysis papers written by legal scholars.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search the web for peer-reviewed article and book citations. You can use these citations to track down the items at Green River or request them by Interlibrary Loan.