Green River LibGuides: CMST 220 Public Speaking: Finding statistics

Recommended Statistics Sources

USA.gov
The portal to all official U.S. Government agencies, departments, publications, and more.

Good for "informational" statistics

Examples: cost or value of businesses or issues; health statistics; population statistics; education statistics; safety statistics; environmental statistics...
Try it out: Search your main topic keyword and "statistics" (Example: '"U.S. renters" statistics')

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides reports and statistics on the issues, attitudes and social trends shaping America and the world.

What it covers:

Pew Research Center provides data-driven reports and non-partisan public polling for social issues in the United States and (to a more limited extent) internationally:

(click on the image to see the full example report)

How to find it:

In order to see the different categories and world regions Pew has produced reports on, choose "Research Topics" near the top of the screen:

Choose the Research Topics tab
You can filter reports by topic theme, or
geographical region.

(click on the image to expand)

Population Reference Bureau
Find stats on population and topics such as economy, education and health. Includes data for the United States and the World
U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Census data reflects the demographic make-up of the U.S., with figures on family size and structure, income, health insurance coverage, and much, much more.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Statistics from around the world on topics such as literacy, science, education, etc. From a branch of the United Nations.
World Bank: Statistics
"Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe." Mostly on economics & world resources (climate change impacts, growth indicators, etc.)

International Statistics

Locating international statistics online

Linked below are a list of websites where you can locate statistics on various topics.

U.S. Census Bureau: International Programs
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products. For over 60 years, the Census Bureau has performed international analytical work and assisted in the collection, processing, analysis, dissemination, and use of statistics with counterpart governments in over 100 countries.
U.S. Census Bureau: International Programs - International Statistical Agencies
If you are working with an non-U.S. city, check this list of international statistical agencies to see there's one for your country.
To translate non-English web pages, look for a British or U.S. flag icon on the page.
UNdata
Searchable data from the UN. A very simple interface, but it can be tricky to find information from this source.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Statistics from around the world on topics such as literacy, science, education, etc. From a branch of the United Nations.
International Statistics by Topic
From Northwestern University. Includes topics such as crime, economics, education, employment, trade, environment, health...etc.
OECD iLibrary
"OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD's analysis and data."
World Bank: Data on Countries and Economies
Statistics by topic and country, including world development indicators