Green River LibGuides: ENGL 235 Introduction to Technical Communication (Frazier): Scholarship/ Research & Analysis

Find Current Research and Analysis in Scholarship

Find Scholarly/ Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles in Holman Library Databases

Find scholarly journals articles not freely accessible on the internet.

Please note:

Databases may have a mix of scholarly and non-scholarly sources.
Use helpful filters, keywords, and subject terms to search and then assess your results.
To limit to Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals only, check the box for Peer Reviewed or Scholarly Journals.

Holman Library One Search

The Library One Search searches in all library databases at once. This can be useful, but it can also return less relevant results.

Tip: Academic Search Complete and ProQuest are better sources of useful Subject Terms.
Tip: The One Search defaults to full text only. To learn about additional potentially useful sources that you can borrow with ILL, check the box: Include results with no online full text.

Holman Library One Search (Advanced Search)
Use the advanced search options to select source type (books, videos, scholarly peer-reviewed articles), online format, date ranges and more .

more... less...

Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Scholarly journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering a wide range of academic fields including biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
ProQuest Combined Databases
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and academic journals
JSTOR
Find in-depth research and analysis in JSTOR's full text archive of academic journals in all subjects.

Subject Databases: Business

Business Insights (Gale)
Full-text articles, case studies, SWOT analyses, financial reports and other in-depth statistical data on US and international companies, and tools to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Supports research in key business areas such as accounting, finance, management, and marketing with peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, company profiles, industry reports, and news.
Business Collection (ProQuest)
Search ABI/INFORM, The Wall Street Journal and ProQuest business journals in one search.

Subject Databases: Education & Engineering

ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. Includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

Subject Databases: Science & Engineering

Science and Technology Collection (ProQuest)
A resource for applied and general sciences. Search for articles on Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry and more. Includes Research Library: Science & Technology and SciTech Premium Collection.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Search high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
PLoS One - Public Library of Science
An interactive open-access journal for the communication of all peer-reviewed scientific and medical research.
Science In Context (Gale)
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers in addition to experiments and projects. Includes images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a useful tool for expanding research beyond the library collection.

How to Use Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a useful resource for finding additional articles on a topic. You may not always get free, immediate access to the content it shows you, but Google Scholar can be a great place to get started on a project or to look once you've explored Holman Library databases.

Here are some features as highlighted in the image below.

You can click on the title of an article to read the abstract and information about where the article was published.
By clicking on the small quotation mark icon that appears under the article, you can see a list of citations, in various citation styles including MLA and APA, for the source. Be sure to check these against a style guide as they may be incorrect or incomplete.
You can limit by date, or a date range to ensure you're finding the most relevant content - and depending on your topic, that might be important.
If the article is freely available online, there is often a PDF icon and link off to the left.
And, if in your settings, you select GRC as one of your libraries, the results page will even note and link you to articles housed in the GRC library databases.
You can request any articles that you learn about here, but are not given full-text access to, through Interlibrary Loan. Use the links for more information about this process or talk to a librarian if you need help!

(click on image to enlarge) screenshot of the results page of a search in Google Scholar with arrows pointing to the tools mentioned in the text before the image

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Fill out this form to request items not available through the Holman Library
Google Scholar - Search Settings
Click on "Library Links" from the menu on the left and then search for "Green River College." This will allow Google Scholar to show links to articles from the GRC Library.

Sample Case: ERIC

Keyword Search: international students AND community colleges AND support OR services OR success

Limiters: Peer Reviewed & last 10 years

international students AND community college AND support OR services OR success

Article Abstract: "Voices of Chinese International Students in USA Colleges: 'I Want to Tell Them That"

The abstract indicates that the study collected feedback from Chinese students of US colleges on how their institutions could better serve and support them.

Abstract: Voices of Chinese international students in USA college: "I Want to Tell them that..."

Article Introduction

Lays out the context: research that has been done and what this study can provide to fill in gaps of knowledge and practice.

Intro to the article

Article Conclusion:

The article concludes with many suggestions for best and improved practices, including culturally relevant teaching, support for instruction, improved support and policies on housing, and more

ERIC: international students - conclusions

Why Scholarship?

Why read scholarly literature?

Scholarly journals advance our knowledge in a field of study.

Some features of scholarly literature:

May share original research
Authored by credentialed experts in the scholarly field
In-depth analyses of topics
Abstract that summarizes the article. Read to determine relevance!
Explanation of methodology and materials, so that study findings are transparent and may be reproduced
Discussion of study and results
Literature cited section
In-text citations or notes
Use technical, specialized vocabulary