Be a Power Researcher!

ProQuest, Academic Search Complete, and other research databases include article abstracts and citation information without full text. This is useful to you as a researcher!

If you are not in a rush and choose not to limit your results to what is available now, in full-text, you can see even more results - articles that you can often track down (in full text) from another source, either in another GRC database or in the WorldCat catalog.
 

To track down the full text of an abstract only article: 

• If you do not limit to full-text, you should see your results list. In those results, as shown in the image below, click on Check for Full Text in other sources.

• Doing this will either:

  • Link directly to the article in another Holman Library database, OR
  • Provide a link to InterLibrary Loan. Click on the InterLibrary Loan link to borrow the article from another library. Articles are usually available electronically and will be emailed to you fairly quickly.

(click on image to enlarge)

To  track down a reference in a works cited list use: 

• Holman Library One Search: 
  • Type the title and author of the article you're looking for into the advanced search boxes of the library's Primo One Search Tool.
  • Put the title in "quotes" to keep all the words together.
  • Primo One Search searches across library databases and our book collection.

• If you know the title of an article you can search for that title in the main search box on the library's website as shown in the image below.

(Click on image to enlarge)

• In this case we had the article in Holman Library, and my search returned this result: 

(click on image to enlarge)