Green River LibGuides: ENGL 101 English Composition 1: Start with an Introduction from Reference

Getting Started with an Information Overview

Find foundational information on your topic in library reference (academic encyclopedias) databases.

For subject databases, such as Gale Biography and Gale U.S. History, limit to reference sources.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College. Articles cover all subjects and disciplines.

Reference in Ebsco -- Ebooks Community College Collection
Search within 3000+ reference books across the disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and health.
Reference in ProQuest Ebook Central
A collection of searchable academic reference sources in multiple disciplines

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Browse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.
Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference entries, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, podcasts, and images covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers. Start with Biographies and Reference.
U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.

CultureGrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Cultural information, statistics, and reports on more than 200 countries and territories plus US states and Canadian provinces.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Country information--basic facts, population, history, economics, society & culture, basic greetings. Includes maps and photographs.
World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles, primary sources, and reference books covering world history from antiquity to the present.
U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.

Find background information on your current topics in library databases. When searching, be sure to ask yourself these questions!

Who: Who does this impact? Who is involved?

What: What are the key issues?

When: When is this an issue? What is its context & history?

Where: Where is this an issue?

Why: Why is this occurring? Why does it matter?

How: How is it currently being addressed? How can it be changed?