Green River LibGuides: AMES 105 Social Inequality and Change in American Sports: Start with Background Info

Explore Topics and Find Background Info on Topics

Social Science Resources

Browse through the tabs above to explore topic ideas in the social sciences.

Explore Ideas with Gale eBooks

Browse the academic encyclopedia collection Gale eBooks for good topic ideas

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College

Strategy 1:

Type in a broad idea, such as masculinity, homelessness, mental illness, or criminal justice and browse the list of titles and topics returned.

Select Subjects from the filters on the right and browse the list of related and subtopics.
Open articles to explore possible ideas for your research project.
- Notice the encyclopedia title the article is in. That may give you an indication of its focus.
- Remember to keep a Social Science focus.

(Click on images below to enlarge)

Strategy 2:

Type in a more focused search and browse the results for ideas.

Example: incarceration AND families OR children.

(click on image to enlarge)

Strategy 3:

Click on Gale eBooks at the top of the database page. This takes you to the encyclopedia level. Limit to Social Science on the left and then browse titles and ideas there.

(click on image to enlarge)

Searching CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Browse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.

In CQ Researcher, look for the option to "Browse reports by topic" on the menu at the top of the page

(click on image to enlarge)

Searching Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text viewpoint essays, topic overviews, journal articles, news, and statistics. A great place to find evidence to support argumentative essays.

Search Tips

In Opposing Viewpoints, you have the option to look at larger, broad topics. Instead of searching the large search box at top, scroll down to see the list of issues, or topics.

(Click to enlarge image)

Additional Current Issues Databases

Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles featuring global viewpoints on international issues, country reports, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and more
Science In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers in addition to experiments and projects. Includes images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles featuring global viewpoints on international issues, country reports, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and more
Environmental Studies in Context - GREENR (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.

Holman Library One Search

Use One Search to explore topic ideas and issues. This can be a great way to take a starting interest and find a focus.

Type in a search term and browse the results to get a sense of some of the issues addressed on your starting concept.

Peruse titles in the results list for ideas
Use Subject limiters on the left to find subtopics

Searching Debate-Focused Websites

ProCon.org
Find background information and existing arguments about controversial issues.

You can easily browse through larger topics on the ProCon.org website

(click on image to enlarge)

Debateabase
Debateabase is produced by the International Debate Education Association. Use this resource as a springboard to current and controversial topics.

This debate database, Debateabase, is a good way to look for controversial topics in today's world. Use the link below to access the website and see a list of topics

(click on image to enlarge)

Intelligence Squared Debates
Videos and transcripts of intelligent debates that are grounded in facts and reasoned analysis more than emotion or ideology.
Public Agenda
A nonpartisan, non-profit policy organization whose agenda is involving the public in policy education, debate, and legislation.

Searching Online

Explore the resources below for some great current issues in the social sciences. This is just a sampling of sources.
You'll find a Google Search box at the bottom of the list if you'd like to explore more widely.

The Hidden Brain
Social Science research applied to our daily lives
TED Talks
Talks that cover the gamut of current issues. Explore talks by Topic, including Science, Technology, and Business - Or search for a TED Taslk on a specific subject. Be sure to asses: Is the speaker an expert on this topic?
National Public Radio (NPR)
Independent and topical radio news. Be sure to check the long list of programs distributed through NPR.
National Public Radio (NPR): Fresh Air
Fresh Air Fresh Air from WHYY, the Peabody Award-winning weekday magazine of contemporary arts and issues
National Public Radio (NPR): Planet Money
Imagine you could call up a friend and say, "Meet me at the bar and tell me what's going on with the economy." Now imagine that's actually a fun evening. That's what we're going for at Planet Money. Want to know more?
Science Friday
A science radio program/website from National Public Radio (with links to reliable source material).
The Freedom Forum: Today's Front Pages
The Freedom Forum is a nonpartisan 501 (c)(3) foundation that fosters First Amendment freedoms for all.
The Seattle Times
Look for Local Issues!

Selected Sources

The Business and Culture of Sports
Provides in-depth analysis of both U.S.-based and international perspectives. Special emphasis is given to themes with entwined economic, political, and cultural reverberations, such as sports and inequality, gender, diplomacy, social mobility, race relations, and environmental sustainability.
Sports in America : recreation, business, education, and controversy
Explores the role of sports in American society. Covers participation and attendance at sporting events; the sports industry; illegal gambling and performance-enhancing drugs; and student athletes.
Sports in America from Colonial Times to the Twenty-First Century: an Encyclopedia
Call Number: Available online and on Reference Shelves Call Number 796.0973 S7646 2011
ISBN: 9780765617064
This encyclopedia presents a social, cultural, and economic history of American sports from hunting, bowling, and skating in the 16th century to televised professional sports today. Nearly 400 articles examine historical and cultural aspects of leagues, teams, institutions, major competitions, the media and other related industries, as well as legal and social issues, economic factors, ethnic and racial participation, and the growth of institutions and venues.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World Sport (3 Volumes)
ISBN: 9781933782676
An encyclopedia providing comprehensive coverage of the culture, history, and business of sports around the world. Includes articles on sports management and marketing, sporting goods, sports medicine, doping scandals, women's sports, extreme and fantasy sports, environmental sustainability and technological innovation in sports.
Youth Sports in America: the Most Important Issues in Youth Sports Today
ISBN: 9781440843020
This book examines the state of youth sports in America today, analyzing how organized sports influence communities, discussing the potential emotional and physical benefits as well as drawbacks of youth sports, and profiling the industry's key participants, ranging from parent coaches to club sports owners to personal trainers. The work begins with a look at the evolution of youth sports in the United States, then explores such topics as burnout, self-discipline, performance-enhancing drugs, parental violence, and scholarships. The content includes coverage of 20 individual youth sports, such as basketball, softball, lacrosse, baseball, volleyball, football, soccer, cross-country, and swimming, and provides breakdowns of historical and current participation rates, injury rates, and sport-specific scholarship trends. Each summary includes contact information on important organizations specific to that sport.