1. Click the link above to access the Holman Library One Search which searches for books, videos, journals and more.
2. You will need to construct a search and perform at least a couple different searches.
Click images to enlarge and see all examples below:
SEARCH FOR ARTCLES ABOUT THE CASE:
DO DIFFERENT, SEPARATE SEARCHES FOR ARTICLES ABOUT THE CIVIL LIBERTY OR CONSTUTITIONAL ISSUE:
3. Filter in the left column by show only = PEER-REVIEWED JOURNALS
4. Click "view online" to read the article:
6. The library has articles in different vendor "platforms," so the interfaces may look slightly different, but the strategies to manipulate the articles are similar:
6A. Manipulate the article - EBSCO platform
click image to enlarge:
Read the abstract (summary) to determine if the article is relevant to your needs
Click "full text" to read the entire article. Double check to make sure it meets the criteria for a scholarly "peer-reviewed" article
"Subject terms" may be helpful for future searches that you perform
Save a link to this article so you can access it later
There is a database-generated citation, but they are occasionally incorrect.
There are the pieces of info that you can use to create a citation on your own
6B. Manipulate the article - PROQUEST platform
click image to enlarge:
Read the abstract (summary) to determine if the article is relevant to your needs
Click "full text" to read the entire article. Double check to make sure it meets the criteria for a scholarly "peer-reviewed" article
"Subject terms" may be helpful for future searches that you perform
Save a link to this article so you can access it later
There is a database-generated citation, but they are occasionally incorrect.
There are the pieces of info that you can use to create a citation on your own
Selected Legal Repositories
These legal repositories can be helpful for finding analysis of court decisions, their influence and their impact on society.
Features a developing collection of law publications and papers from University of California at Berkeley
Example: A search of "police misconduct" returns 30 articles from the California Law Review, Asian American Law Journal, and others, including "From the Community Lawyers' Lens: The Case of the Quincy 4 and Challenges to Securing Civil Rights for Asian Americans"
Open access archive of legal and criminal justice sources, many of which are scholarly journal articles or are analysis papers written by legal scholars.
This free search engine searches the free full-text of over 300 online law reviews and law journals, as well as document repositories hosting academic papers and related publications such as Congressional Research Service reports.
Viewing tip: for PDF files, click on the "View as HTML" or "Quick View" links for quick viewing.
Search in Specific Databases and Journals
You may wish to search in specific legal databases:
Selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers covering federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
