LibGuides: CJ 101 Introduction to Criminal Justice (Williams): Find Scholarship

Find Scholarship

Find scholarly sources from Criminal Justice journals.

Use the databases below to search for scholarly articles on criminal justice topics.

Tip: Be sure to limit your search to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals, if an option.

And then, beware book reviews! Book reviews in scholarly journals are not scholarly analysis. They are reviews of books in the subject area.

Holman Library One Search (Advanced Search)
Use the advanced search options to select source type (books, videos, scholarly peer-reviewed articles), online format, date ranges and more .
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

Criminal Justice OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals in law, law enforcement, court reporting, forensic science, crime scene investigation and paralegal service.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Database Tutorial: Academic OneFile Advanced Search(Gale)
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Search high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search the web for peer-reviewed article and book citations. You can use these citations to track down the items at Green River or request them by Interlibrary Loan.

Why Scholarship?

Why read scholarly literature?

Scholarly journals advance knowledge in a field of study.

Some features of scholarly literature:

Identify problems and issues to be researched
Provide an overview of existing knowledge on the topic - and gaps in existing approaches
Reports of original research and/or analysis
Authored by credentialed experts in the scholarly field
In-depth analysis of topics

Legal Archives Online

You can find some good scholarly criminal justice articles for this assignment on the free web, but remember, the burden of proof rests on you to determine if the article is scholarly.

Be sure to check for date!

The following legal archives on the web offer some free full text content.

Berkeley Law Scholarship Repository
Features a developing collection of law publications and papers from University of California at Berkeley
Example: A search of "police misconduct" returns 30 articles from the California Law Review, Asian American Law Journal, and others, including "From the Community Lawyers' Lens: The Case of the Quincy 4 and Challenges to Securing Civil Rights for Asian Americans"
bepress: Legal Scholarship Repository
Open access archive of legal and criminal justice sources, many of which are scholarly journal articles or are analysis papers written by legal scholars.