Green River LibGuides: CJ 101 Introduction to Criminal Justice (Williams): Find Current News Media

Find Current News in Newspapers & Magazines

Finding Magazines & Newspaper Articles

Find magazine, newspaper, and multimedia news sources on current issues.

Search Tips:

To limit your search to only magazine and/or new articles, select magazines or newspapers at Publication Type.
If you choose newspaper articles, look for substance! Try limiting to cover story or feature for longer articles.

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and academic journals
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Database Tutorial: Academic OneFile Advanced Search(Gale)

Or, another option: Go directly to the alternative press

Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.

Search in all library databases at once

Holman Library One Search (Advanced Search)
Use the advanced search options to select source type (books, videos, scholarly peer-reviewed articles), online format, date ranges and more .
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

Why News Media?

Why News Sources?

Learn about current issues in criminal justice from credible news sources.

News sources are "non-scholarly," but that does not mean they are bad sources. These are sources that are researched by journalists for the general public, rather than an academic or professional audience.

Unlike scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, news sources generally cover current events and issues.

Editorials and Op-Eds even provide opinion.

Popular news sources are a good place to look if you want to see what has happened on an issue or what public opinion might be.