LibGuides: Early Childhood Education: Find Articles

Selected ECE Journals

Note down the author, name of book OR title of article, name of the magazine, journal or newspaper, and date of publication
Make an Interlibrary Loan Request using the following link so that the boor or article can be sent to Green River's Holman Library for you to borrow:

Note: this process may take one week

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and articles from other libraries using ILL

Look for books, journals, magazines, newspapers and videos in library’s databases

Holman Library One Search (Advanced Search)
Use the advanced search options to select source type (books, videos, scholarly peer-reviewed articles), online format, date ranges and more .
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search all Gale databases with a single search
Database Tutorial: Gale Basic Search & Topic Finder
Database Tutorial: Gale Academic OneFile Advanced Search
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search 2,000 full-text scholarly peer-reviewed journals in Science, Social Sciences, Humanities and Health Sciences

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, PTSDpubs includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and traumatic events.

Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
Resources indexed and housed on the Research Connections site cover a broad spectrum of research on child care and early education and related policies. The collection brings together original research, syntheses, datasets, and other research-related resources from the wide range of social science disciplines and professional fields that study early care and education. Some articles available in full text. Request other articles through the Holman Library Interlibrary Loan Service.

Gather possible search words
1. use words in your assignment prompts and readings as search words
2. brainstorm synonyms for search words. Example: hunger = famine, starvation
3. brainstorm broader search words. Example: a broader search word for "hunger" = food insecurity
4. brainstorm narrower search words. Example: a narrower search word for "developing countries" = Bangladesh
Strategize: Use different words and different search tools
1. plan to search in different search tools (try several library databases, the internet..etc.)
2. in each tool:

First, try broad searches, such as: famine
Then, combine words to narrow and focus searches, such as famine "third world" "genetically modified foods"

(click on image to enlarge)

Combine search words with AND to narrow your search. Example: hunger AND developing countries
Put quotation marks around words to find phrases. Example: "genetically modified foods"
Use OR to find synonyms for words and concepts. Example: hunger OR famine
Option: Click "full text" to limit results to full text articles
Option: Click "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly" to limit results to scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles