ACCT 202 Principles of Accounting II

This guide will help students analyze a company's financial health

Find Company Profiles in Holman Library

Using Business Insights

Use Business Insights Global to find company information, including Company Profiles, SWOT Reports, Industry Analyses, Plunkett Reports, and more. In this database, do pay attention to date! You need current information.

Business Insights Global offers both industry and company research. Search or browse for reports. 

(click on image to enlarge)

Business Insights Global Industry Research

 

  • As shown in the image below, you can enter a specific company or use the entry points in the menu at the top to find relevant business information. The image, showing a search of Amazon, returns a range of information from Brands to SWOT Reports

(click on image to enlarge)

Business Insights Global search results, highlighting the menu options at the top to use to find different source types and information

Using ProQuest Business Collection

ProQuest Business by default searches three separate databases: ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, ProQuest Research Library: Business, and The Wall Street Journal.

Company Profiles:

Use this link to find company profiles. You may limit by year, company, information, and more.

Find NAICS codes, Companies, & More

proquest business collection

 

Search for financial information on a company or industry

You can search for information on specific companies or industries in ProQuest Business. 

(click on image to enlarge)

Type in your search terms, or keywords, to find relevant information in ProQuest Business. Be sure to limit to full-text articles if you need access immediately.

  • A search for information about the growth of Starbucks franchises might look like this (image below): 

(click on image to enlarge)

search in business database

Tips:

  • Try different search terms to get to the most relevant articles.

  • If you get too many titles, try adding another search term to narrow and focus your results.

  • You can limit by year of publication.

  • You can limit by full text (which means you will only get articles you can read in entirety).

How do you know which articles meet your needs?

Your search results list looks like this. 

  • Read the abstract, or summary, to understand the key focus of the article or report. Is it what you are looking for?
  • Use the menu on the left to further focus your search for the right information.

(click on image to enlarge)

results in database

King County Library System (KCLS) - Business Databases

Accessing the KCLS Library System

King County Library System logo

As a student at Green River College, you automatically have access to online library resources at King County Library System, including the Business Databases listed below. 

To Log in to KCLS digital resources:
  • Click on Online Library > Databases. Log in at a specific database.
  • Use GRC + your student username. (The part before the @ in your GRC email address.) Type GRC in capital letters and your username with lowercase letters. 
    • Example email: GRCsmith.jane.23
    • Wrong: GRCSmith.Jane.23. Must use lowercase for the username.
  • PIN number: your pin is the last four characters of your log in. Example: e.23
Business Databases
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center
  • Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
  • Seattle Daily Journal of Commerce
  • Value Line Investment Survey Reports

Company Profiles at Holman Library

Read through this page to:
  • Learn how to find company profiles and reports in print at Holman Library.
  • Learn how to find company profiles and reports in the Holman Library databases Business Insights: Global and ProQuest Business Collection

Print Reference Books

Notable Corporate Chronologies is also available electronically in Business Insights: Global. 

Subjects: Business
Tags: accounting