Electronic Database Collections

Did you know that news and trade articles are one of the best sources for financial information on privately held companies?

This page shows you many of those resources.

To see what business magazines, newspapers and journals we carry, check the Journals List.

Searching ProQuest Business

Type in your search terms, or keywords, to find relevant information in ProQuest Business.

A search for information about the growth of Starbucks franchises might look like the image below. 

• As shown in the image below, you can type in terms, or keywords, that capture your research topic. Use simple terms and connect and focus your search using the built in Boolean AND
• You can limit your search to find full-text articles by checking the “Full-text” box, or you may leave this box unchecked to see if we have the article in another database, or as an article you can request through interlibrary loan.
• You can also set a date to limit to find articles in an appropriate date range for your topic.

(click on image to enlarge)

Tips:

• Try different search terms(keywords and subject terms) to find the most relevant articles.
• If you get too many titles, try adding another search term to narrow and focus your results.
• Pay attention to the Suggested Topics box. Do those terms get you better (more relevant) results? You can mix and match their terms with yours.
• You can limit by year of publication.
• You can limit by source type - including newspapers, magazines, and trade (professional) journals. 
• You can limit by full text (which means you will only get articles you can read in entirety).

​​How do you know which articles meet your needs?

Taking a closer look at the results

• Read the abstract, or summary, to understand the key focus of the article or report. Is it what you are looking for?
• Use the tools on the database page to further focus your search for the right info. 
• Click on a title to learn more and see related keywords and subject and open the PFD for the article.
• Notice the limiters on the left where you can limit by date, source type, document type, or additional subject.

(click on image to enlarge)

Search for a Specific Journal

To see what business magazines, newspapers and industry journals are available through Holman Library (print or online), check the Journals List.

• Click on Databases by Subject from the library homepage
• Click on All Journals List: Print and Electronic on the right-hand side bar (or use the link below)

This will open to the library's catalog where you can then click enter the title of the journal you're searching for. 

Or you can search a list by subject using the "Journals by category" option to the left as shown in the image below.

​(click on image to enlarge)

Accessing the KCLS Library System

As a student at Green River College, you automatically have access to online library resources at King County Library System, including the Business Databases listed below. 

Log in to KCLS digital resources:

• To Log in: use GRC + your student username. (The part before the @ in your GRC email address.) Type GRC in capital letters and your username with lowercase letters. 
  • Example email: GRCsmith.jane.23
  • Wrong: GRCSmith.Jane.23. Must use lowercase for the username.
• PIN number: your pin is the last four characters of your log in. Example: e.23

Business Databases

• Morningstar Investment Research Center
• Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)
• Seattle Daily Journal of Commerce
• Value Line Investment Survey Reports

(image citation below)

Print Business Journals at Holman Library

Journals are arranged alphabetically in the periodicals section of the library. While periodicals are for in-library use only, you may scan or photocopy useful articles.

General Business:

Image source: Fig. IV. Bloomsberg Businessweek. Bloomsberg Businessweek. Web. 19 Oct. 2011.