Poverty and Access to Education - One Book 2019-2020: Immigration, Borders and Education - Behold the Dreamers & Papers - Green River LibGuides at Green River College

Poverty: Books in the Holman Library

$2.00 a Day: Living on Almost Nothing in America by Kathryn J. Edin; H. Luke Shaefer
Call Number: 339.46 E23t 2015
ISBN: 9780544303188
Main Collection
Child Poverty in America Today by Barbara A. Arrighi (Editor); David J. Maume (Editor)
Call Number: 362.7 C5362 2007; also available as an ebook (Click title for link,)
ISBN: 9780275989262
Publication Date: 2007
Main Collection and ebook.
Inequality in America: Race, Poverty, and Fulfilling Democracy's Promise by Stephen M. Caliendo
Call Number: For ebook, click on title, above. Also in hard copy, at 305.5 C153i 2015
Publication Date: 2012
Main Collection and ebook.
The American Way of Poverty: How the Other Half Still Lives by Sasha Abramsky
Call Number: 362.5097 A161a 2013
ISBN: 9781568587264
Main Collection
Poverty in America by Tamara Thompson (editor)
Call Number: 362.5097 P8793 2015; also ebook
ISBN: 9780737771831
Main Collection and ebook
Putting Poor People to Work: How the Work-First Idea Eroded College Access for the Poor by Kathleen M. Shaw; Sara Goldrick-Rab; Christopher Mazzeo; Jerry A. Jacobs
Call Number: 378.1982 P993 2006
ISBN: 0871547759
Publication Date: 2006-08-17
Ebsco ebook
Rac(e)ing to Class: Confronting Poverty and Race in Schools and Classrooms by H. Richard Milner IV
Call Number: 371.82 M659r 2015
ISBN: 9781612507866
Publication Date: 2015
Main Collection

Videos

Source: Poverty Can Impact Learning by Dr. Donna Beegle. Jan. 19, 2017. Ashford Instructional Services. You Tube.

Face to Face with Dr. Donna Beegle. PBS. September 17, 2015, Creative Commons License.

Anti-Poverty Organization Websites

Global Citizen "Our mission is to build a movement of 100 million action-taking Global Citizens to help achieve our vision of ending extreme poverty by 2030."
Poverty Solutions at the University of Michigan This research center, at the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy at the University of Michigan was established in the fall of 2002 as a university-based, nonpartisan research center. We conduct and promote multidisciplinary, policy-relevant research, mentor and train emerging scholars, and inform public discourse on the causes and consequences of poverty.
Children's Defense Fund "The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a non-profit child advocacy organization that has worked relentlessly for over 35 years to ensure a level playing field for all children. We champion policies and programs that lift children out of poverty; protect them from abuse and neglect..."
West Coast Poverty Center Run through the UW, the Center researches the causes of poverty and effective means to reduce poverty.
UpTogether UpTogether is a community, a movement and a platform to highlight, invest in and accelerate the initiatives people in historically undervalued communities are taking to improve their lives and move up, together.
RESULTS "RESULTS is a movement of passionate, committed everyday people [who] use their voices to influence political decisions that will bring an end to poverty."
Talk Poverty "TalkPoverty.org...is dedicated to covering poverty in America by lifting up the voices of advocates, policymakers, and people struggling to make ends meet."

Find More

Type in relevant search terms to find additional articles, books, videos, and more.

Articles in Holman Library

School-to-Prison Pipeline
By Shannon Snapp from "The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies"
Criminalization and Medicalization: The School-to-Prison Pipeline and Racialized Double Standards of Disciplinary Control
By Nancy A. Heitzeg from "The Race Controversy in American Education"
Undocumented Workers and Students
By Robyn Magalit Rodriguez from "Asian American Society: An Encyclopedia"
Undocumented Children and the Schools
By Aurolyn Luykx from "Immigration"
International Students/Student Visas
By Katherine Careaga from "Undocumented Immigrants in the United States: An Encyclopedia of Their Experience"
Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)
By Anna Ochoa O’Leary from "Undocumented Immigrants in the United States: An Encyclopedia of Their Experience"
Too Hungry To Stay In School
Jan. 15, 2018. NYTimes Editorial by Sara Goldrick-Rab

Articles from the web

The Effects of Poverty on Education in the United States
From Child Fund International, 2013
What we get wrong about the poverty gap in education
By Mical Raz, 2018 from The Washington Post
Poverty and School Funding: Why Low-Income Students Often Suffer
By Matthew Lynch, 2016 from The Edvocate
How Does Poverty Influence Learning?
By William Parrett and Kathleen Budge, 2016, from Edutopia
How Poverty Affects Classroom Engagement
By Eric Jensen, 2013, from Educational Leadership

One Book 2019-2020: Immigration, Borders and Education - Behold the Dreamers & Papers: Poverty and Access to Education

Poverty: Books in the Holman Library

Videos

Anti-Poverty Organization Websites

Find More

Type in relevant search terms to find additional articles, books, videos, and more.

Articles in Holman Library

Articles from the web