Green River LibGuides: Research Guide: Statistics: General Collections of Statistics

General Collections of Statistics

Population Reference Bureau
Find stats on population and topics such as economy, education and health. Includes data for the United States and the World
Pew Research Center: Topics
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides reports and statistics on the issues, attitudes and social trends shaping America and the world.
Data.gov
Access open data sets on a variety of topics from the US Executive Office.

Using Information Plus to Find Statistics

The Information Plus Reference Series is a set of print and electronic books that are full of detailed information on a variety of topics. You can access articles in the electronic version of these books by going to the Gale Virtual Reference Library database (also called Gale Ebooks) and limiting your search by publication title, shown in the images below. Use the links below to access the source, and use the tabs in this box to see more tips and tricks about how to search.

Information Plus Reference Series
.

Gale eBooks
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College

What can you find in articles from Information Plus?

The Information Plus Reference Series provides detailed information, including statistics, on a variety of topics.

Abortion
AIDS/HIV
Capital Punishment
Education
The Environment
Growing Old in America
Sports in America
Women in American Society
Careers and Occupations
Death and Dying
Endangered Species
Health and Wellness
Minorities
Space Exploration
Weight in America
World Poverty
The American Economy
Child Abuse and Domestic Violence
Electronic America
Energy
Gambling
Gun Control
The Health Care System
National Security
Alcohol, Tobacco, and Illicit Drugs
Animal Rights
Crime, Prisons, and Jails
Genetics and Genetic Engineering
Growing Up
Immigration and Illegal Aliens
Social Welfare
Water

Limiting to the Information Plus Series

The images below show you how you can search in the Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) database to limit to the publication series "Information Plus."

After opening the database, choose the option for "Advanced Search" so you are given the multiple search boxes
In the first box, you can search by keyword or by a larger topic
In the second box, you can put in the name of the series "information plus" and then, in the drop down option at the end of the search box, you can limit that to "publication title" to see results from just that publication.

(click on image to enlarge)

The image below shows just one example of the kind of statistics you can find within the articles that come from the Information Plus Reference Series.

(click on image to enlarge)

Example of statistics in charts

Charts, Graphs, and Diagrams

Statistics are often found inside books and articles, namely, in the graphs, charts, and diagrams within them. The image of the graph below is from a CQ Research report and is but one example of how you can locate find statistical information in larger information sources.

(click on image to enlarge)

Image source: Bureau of Labor Statistics (2010). "Disabled veterans and the labor force on the Internet" The Economics Daily, U.S. Department of Labor, at https://www.bls.gov/

(click on image to enlarge)

Image Source: Mantel, B. (2010, April 2). Breast cancer. CQ Researcher, 20, 289-312. Retrieved from http://library.cqpress.com