Green River LibGuides: Research Guide: Literary Criticism: Find Websites

Finding images of authors

Finding images

Author W.E.B. Du Bois - image source below

Find images like this in the various collections in the New York Public Library Digital Gallery using the link below.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Image source: Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Manuscripts, Archives and Rare Books Division, The New York Public Library. "Prof. W. E. B. DuBois, Sociologist and Writer, Atlanta, Ga." The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1900. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47da-70ec-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Literary Criticism Websites

Finding literary criticism online

Use the links below to go to websites that can help you find literary criticism. Remember also to use advanced searching when using Google to locate literary criticism.

Southern Connecticut State University Library: Open Access Resources for English and American Literature
Includes information on drama, poetry and prose as well as author biographical information
Voice of the Shuttle - Literature in English
Note menu on right-hand side which leads to resources for different literary time periods
Voice of the Shuttle - Literatures Other Than English
Academy of American Poets
Search poem texts and biographies of over 500 poets. Use advanced search feature to search by keyword, title, first line, historical poetic movement or poetic theme
Voices from the Gaps
Highlights Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women writers with author biographies and review of works
Bartleby.com
Reference works, as well as full text books of verse, fiction, and non-fiction in the public domain
Project Gutenberg
Full text of over 60,000 free electronic books

Find reliable websites by limiting the domain! (just text, one image) [no assets=okay to map OR copy]

Limit to specific domains in when searching Google

Limiting the domain of the websites you're searching in Google is one of the quickest ways to narrow your results and find more credible resources quickly! URL domains can be clues to a site's reliability and ownership.

Common URL domains:

.com = commercial (ads & pop-ups)
.gov = U.S. government (official agencies)
.mil = U.S. military
.edu = educational (colleges & universities)
.org = organization (could be non-profit or for-profit, can be informative but often biased)
.net = network (could be almost anything, including personal websites)
.info = information (generic domain, no criteria needed for companies or individuals to use)
.biz = business (an alternative to .com)

You can also limit your searches, like through a Google search, by using the "site:" search shortcut.

"Site searching" examples:

sample site search limiting the domain to educational websites

politics in art site:edu (would find educational resources on this topic)
politics in art site:gov (would find U.S. government resources on this topic)
Note that there are NO spaces before or after the colon after the word "site"

Websites for Specific Authors

Looking up specific authors

Author Dorothy Parker - image source below

Image source: Billy Rose Theatre Division, The New York Public Library. "Dorothy Parker (Writer)" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47df-34d2-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99