Research Guide: Interlibrary Loan

Use this guide to learn more about Interlibrary Loans

Finding Articles

Requesting articles GRC doesn't subscribe to

Library Databases contains many journal, magazine and newspaper articles in full-text format.

However, if you encounter an article that is not available in full-text, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan:

Below is an example of a search in Academic Search Complete.

This image shows the search for "mushrooms pacific northwest" in the database Academic Search Complete

(click on image to enlarge)

  • The image below shows the results of the search shown above. It shows the two records for the two articles that I am interested in reading.
  • Looking at the image, you can see that the first article is available in full-text and links to the PDF, but the other does not show that it is available in full-text.

 This image shows two listings, or results, in the database search. The first has a PDF logo next to it showing it is in full text. The second is not available.

(click on image to enlarge)

  • If you click the Find@GRC or the Check for full text at GRC link you would see a message that says the article is not available.
  • But you can easily request it through Interlibrary Loans (ILL)
  • Click on the title of the article to find the information (shown below) that you will need to fill out the ILL Request Form

‚ÄčThis image shows how to look on the result screen for the article you're trying to request, within the database, to find info about the article, such as the author, title, publication name, etc.     
(click on image to enlarge)