Green River LibGuides: ENGL 097 English Express (Moore): Find Current Reporting & Analysis in Newspapers, Magazines, & Multimedia

Magazines & News for Educators

Education Magazines & Newspapers

Professionals learn about current issues and research in their fields through trade magazines. Here are a few:

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Publishes news, commentary and job openings in higher education. Updated daily. Log in using your faculty or student info, or create a personal account on chronicle.com using your GRC email address and then use your personal username and password for access from anywhere!

Diverse Issues in Higher Education
Online News source: Our mission is to provide our audience information that is honest, thorough and balanced. Diverse seeks to be a catalyst for change, and our ultimate objective is to contribute to the building of educational, cultural, social and economic structures that will allow every individual to achieve his or her full human potential and contribute to the greater good of the community and the nation.
Higher Education Today
A blog of the American Council on Education. See the "Policy & Research" tab for resources
Education Week
Available online from 1995-present

Sample Articles:

How Cultural Norms in Education Differ Around the World
Opinion article from Education Week, April 05, 2017 - with links to reports and other sources. Education Week is a magazine for K-12 teachers.
How This Campus Works to Include International Students
from Diverse Issues in Higher Ed, Oct 25th, 2021

Find your Topic in the Current News & Culture Conversation - Library Sources

Find Reporting and Analysis of Education Topics in Current News & Culture Journalism

Look for the conversation on your education topic in current newspapers, magazines, radio, podcasts, and educational video.

Enter your search terms. Be sure to try different words if your search isn't working.

Find Newspapers, Magazines and Multimedia in Holman Library

To find newspapers, magazines, and audiovisual sources, check those boxes in the menu of your search results.

In the sample search image below, I have checked the filters for magazine articles and newspaper articles in the library's One Search.

One Search

The One Search looks for sources in all library databases at once.

Holman Library One Search Advanced Search (Books and Videos)
Use the advanced search options to select format type (limited to books and videos), date ranges, and more.

Library Databases

Newspapers -- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National and Washington newspapers. To see included titles, enter the database, click on the Databases Selected; link at the top left, scroll down to ProQuest Newspapers and click on View Titles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Database Tutorial: Academic OneFile Advanced Search(Gale)
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for films on many topics, such as Anthropology, Biology, Business & Economics, Careers, and many more.

Sample film from Films on Demand:

Time for School 2003-2016
Time for School: 2003 - 2016 puts a human face on an underreported global crisis, by spotlighting the journey of five extraordinary children in five countries as they struggle to get a basic education. Time for School introduces viewers to Nanavi in Benin; Jefferson in Brazil; Neeraj in India; Joab in Kenya; and Shugufa in Afghanistan on their first days of school and follows them from for the next 12 years. Told primarily through the point of view of the children and their families, Time for School presents the contrasting lives of those who were forced to abandon schooling and those who are still following their dreams. It tells a gripping story of what's at stake when war, abject poverty, or just being a girl stands between a child and the simple promise of a basic education. Distributed by PBS

Sample search in Films on Demand (Search of India AND education):

Find News Online: Education

Seattle Times Education Lab
The Times of India: Education News
New York Times: Education
The education section of the NY Times - online link.
NY Times is available in ProQuest.
Al Jazeera: Education News
Native News Online: Education News

Use the Web to look for education news from other national and international newspapers.

Find Multimedia News, Analysis, & Opinion Online

Find Reporting and Cultural Analysis Online

National Public Radio (NPR)
Independent and topical radio news. Be sure to check the long list of programs distributed through NPR.
The Hidden Brain
Social Science research applied to our daily lives
National Public Radio (NPR): Code Switch
Podcasts and News on race & culture
Otherhood
Public Radio Podcast on diversity topics
Here & Now
radio/ podcast current issues journalism and analysis
TED Talks
Talks that cover the gamut of current issues. Explore talks by Topic, including Science, Technology, and Business - Or search for a TED Taslk on a specific subject. Be sure to asses: Is the speaker an expert on this topic?
Annenberg Learner
This is a site built for teachers, and it may have some excellent content on your topic. Look for the VoD icon, which indicates things you can stream for free.
Nice White Parents - Podcast
"From Serial and The New York Times: 'Nice White Parents' looks at the 60-year relationship between white parents and the public school down the block"
Latino USA
Long-running NPR program on Latino politics and culture

Sample News Report on NPR:

Millions of Ukrainian Children are Still in School Despite the War
National Public Radio, April 2022