Using Subject Terms

Databases each have a set of controlled vocabulary they use to organize and search content; they are called Subject Terms. If you can't figure out what keyword will find you articles on your topic, you can search that collection's Subject Terms instead of keywords to find the most relevant articles on a topic. 

• Select Subject Terms (in Academic Search Complete) or the Thesaurus (in ProQuest and browse for the Subject Term used by the database.
• Type in your keyword, click Browse, and then read through the suggested Subject Terms.
• Click on a term for an explanation of what it means.
• Change OR to AND to combine relevant subject terms. I suggest building your search slowly. Start with one Subject Term and refine that search with additional keywords or subjects.

Examples

• As shown in the image below, instead of the common expression "blended families," Academic Search Complete uses the Subject Term: STEPFAMILIES.

(click on image to enlarge)

Additionally, the Subject Terms list can also help you identify key subtopics, as in the example below. 

• Click on Subject Terms at the top banner to find the terms used to organize articles on a subject.
• Type in your keyword and click Browse.
• Below your term, you will see a list of subtopics for the subject term.

(click on image to enlarge)

• To use Subject Terms in a search, check the box next to a term and click Add if you are in the list of Subject Terms.
• You can change OR to AND to add another subject term.

Be a Power Researcher!

Full Text

ProQuest, Academic Search Complete, and other research databases include article abstracts and citation information without full text. This is useful to you as a researcher!

You may check the filter for Full Text only results (usually at the top or to the side of the results), but if you leave it unchecked, you will learn about highly relevant articles that you can track down elsewhere, whether in another GRC database or in WorldCat.

You can borrow articles we do not have in full text for free through Interlibrary Loan.

The image below shows results from a sample search.

• The first featured result shows the access to the full-text, PDF of the article. 

• The second featured result shows the option to "check for full-text at GRC" - which will either take you to the article housed in another database, or it will connect you to the record where you can then request an interlibrary loan. 

(Click on image to enlarge)

Again, the second option shown in the image above allows you to "check for full-text at GRC" and will either connect you to the full-text PDF of the article in another database, or it will take you to a page that looks like the image below, a record in Primo OneSearch. 

• This is the page you will see if the library doesn't have the PDF. Click on the InterLibrary Loan link to borrow the article from another library. Articles are generally available electronically and they will be emailed to you quickly.

(click on image to enlarge)

Citation "Mining"

Effective researchers "mine" or look through the references of a relevant book or article to find additional sources for their own research. This can be a productive technique!

To track down sources from a references list:  

• Type the title of the source into search box of the library's One Search Tool.
• Put the title in "quotes" to keep all the words together. If the title is very long, you might do best with just the first part.
• If we have it, you'll find it easily this way. If we don't have it, you can use InterLibrary to borrow it for free.

Search Tip Basics

Boolean Operators AND OR NOT

AND / OR / NOT help you broaden or narrow your search results:

• AND narrows and focuses your search - you get fewer, more relevant results

  • Ex: "medical care" AND teen* finds information on medical care specific to teens

• OR broadens your search - you get more results

  • Ex: (teens OR youth) searches for both words

• NOT omits results 

  • Ex: NOT "book reviews"

Truncation *

Use an asterisk with the root of a search term to find multiple forms of the word.

• Teen* = teen, teenaged, teenagers

Build your Search

 Add one search term at a time, so you understand what works and what doesn't.

Keep searches simple using keywords to capture core ideas.

• Ex: Search on ethics AND medical care AND immigrants, rather than: Do immigrant communities receive an adequate standard of health care?

Use a variety of search words to find different results

Look for and try relevant Subject Terms you find in the databases

Using the Interlibrary Loan Service

InterLibrary Loan: No library has it all! But the InterLibrary Loan (or ILL) is a service offered by Holman Library for borrowing books and articles from other libraries. InterLibrary Loan requests are free to current GRC students, faculty and staff.

For your research, it is important to search many places.

• First, start with the books and articles available through the Holman Library.

• Then, If you find books and articles that the Library does NOT have access to, just request them through Interlibrary Loan.

• Using Interlibrary Loan increases the amount of resources available to you and helps you become a more thorough researcher.

Note:

• Books and other items that require mailing may take 1-2 weeks.

• Articles and other digital items may arrive within 2-5 days. Use your email as your contact info and the article will be sent directly to you.

If you need help filling out this form, call the library reference desk at (253) 931-6480.

Other places you can search...

Use the links below to look for books, articles and more beyond our collection:

Create a Concept Map

A literature review requires you to identify the key issues, questions, and theoretical approaches the scholarly literature focuses on with regard to your topic.

The handout linked below may help you start to map out key facets of the scholarly conversation.
I use it in two ways as shown in the image below

• First, to map out the issues I see from a results list. This helps me choose a scholarly focus.
• Second, to map out the more focused conversation specifically on my topic.

(click on image to enlarge)

Find scholarly books in Holman Library

While you can limit a search for scholarly articles to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals, you cannot do the same with books. 

You can, however, use the library’s online catalog to look for scholarly books. Assess: 

• Read the record for the author and publisher. Are author and publisher credentials academic?

• Does the work present original thinking or research?

• Does the work offer sustained, sophisticated, and in-depth analysis and discussion?

• Does the book include extensive references?

Note: Many of our scholarly books are eBooks. That gives you a chance to assess if the book is scholarly!

Use the One Search tool to find print and electronic books in Holman Library.

Wondering what to type in the search box? Be as specific as possible for better results.

Some examples:

• "single-use plastics" is a broad starting search that generates 3,283 results.
• "single-use plastics" AND policy OR legislation OR bans is narrower and yields 1245 results.
• "single-use plastics" AND environmental health OR pollution yields 841 titles.
• "single-use plastics" AND alternatives is even narrower and yields 273 results.

Look for useful Subject Terms to find the most relevant scholarly sources. Use database Subject Terms and review the record of relevant-sounding titles to find useful terms.

Subject terms related to single-use plastics include: 

• Anti-plastic trends 
• disposable plastic products
• plastics in packaging
• plastic scrap

Just one peer-reviewed article (The First Step of Single-Use Plastics Reduction in Thailand) provided the following ideas for search terms and concepts to consider:

• Behavior 
• Consumers 
• Consumption 
• Dishwashing machines 
• Economic factors 
• Environmental behavior 
• Field investigations 
• Field tests 
• Food quality 
• Food safety 
• Guidelines 
• Interviews 
• Laws, regulations and rules 
• Marketing 
• Motivation 
• Participation 
• Perceptions 
• Plastic scrap 
• Plastics 
• Plastics in packaging 
• Postal & delivery services 
• Private sector 
• Social responsibility 
• Society 
• Sustainability 
• Waste minimization