Green River LibGuides: ENGL 101 English Composition 1 (Theme: Mental Health): Explore Topic Ideas & Find your Focus

Explore Ideas

Explore Ideas in a Current Issues Database

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text viewpoint essays, topic overviews, journal articles, news, and statistics. A great place to find evidence to support argumentative essays.

Search with Keywords or click on broad categories to Browse for ideas:

You'll find ideas on this page. Click on individual topics to dig deeper for additional ideas.

Explore Ideas in Current News & Cultural Analysis

Browse Podcasts, Ted Talks, and more - and/or Search in News Media

Sample Multimedia

Ted Talks: Mental Health
TED Talks
Talks that cover the gamut of current issues. Explore talks by Topic, including Science, Technology, and Business - Or search for a TED Taslk on a specific subject. Be sure to asses: Is the speaker an expert on this topic?

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search or Browse for ideas by clicking on the 3 bars for the menu, selecting Show All, and scrolling down to the psychology section.
Click on individual psychology subtopics for a list of ideas and issues addressed in this video database.

Sample Podcasts:

The Mental Illness Happy Hour
" With input from comedians, artists, friends and (some) doctors, Paul Gilmartin is on a mission to normalize what has for too long been stigmatized. He and his guests talk openly and honestly about the things that don’t get talked about in public, the struggles and pains and trauma of their own lives in order to bring to light the truth that the world is much more than black and white stories."
The Happiness Lab

Sample Radio/ Online Journalism

NPR: Mental Health Reporting & Analysis

Local News Reporting

Seattle Times: Mental Health Project

Explore Ideas in Holman Library Databases

limit to newspapers and magazines

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and academic journals
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search all Gale databases with a single search
Database Tutorial: Gale Basic Search & Topic Finder
Database Tutorial: Gale Academic OneFile Advanced Search

Explore Ideas Online

Browse for Ideas in Academic Encyclopedias

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College

Example: Starting Keyword - Anxiety

Explore encyclopedia titles for disciplinary approaches
Explore subjects for some focus ideas
Explore titles for ideas

As I scroll through just some of the nearly 5000 articles my starting keyword ANXIETY returned, as well as some of the subjects, I get ideas for ways I could focus my research. I could for example, look at anxiety and trauma, anxiety and gender, anxiety and young men, etc.