ENGL 101 English Composition 1 (Theme: Career and Industry)

A collection of resources for assignments commonly seen in ENGL&101 with a focus on Career & Industry

ebooks: specific careers

Using Ebooks

Here are two links to lists of Ebooks on careers, followed by sample individual titles. 

  • Ebooks can be read online from anywhere you have an internet connection.

Use Career Planner for Career Exploration Research

Using Career Planner

After creating your own account, you can use Career Planner to research a specific career - finding profiles on jobs that list requirements, education and training needed, wages, employment outlook, and links to additional resources. Use the search tips below to learn how to better search this database. 

Search Tips

  1. The image below shows how you can search by keyword using the "Career Search" option from the menu on the left. This lets you find information about specific careers you might be interested in.

(click on image to enlarge)

search showing how to search by keyword

 

  1. Alternatively, I recommend browsing a larger set of careers using the "Career Cluster" option from the menu on the left. This is a great way to explore and learn about a range of career options connected to a career area interest. 

(click on image to enlarge)

Search page showing broad topics of jobs

Explore a Specific Career

  • Using the menu on the left, you can search for career information using a simple keyword, as shown in the image below. Or search by larger career fields, interest areas, and personality types, and more.

(click on image to enlarge)

career research page of the database, showing the menu on the left and search boxes to search careers

  • Each career summary includes information on career duties, requirements, training, wages, employment outlook, and links to resources like career associations and more. You can also see a list of related careers. 

(click on image to enlarge)

search results showing tabs of information about each career

Explore Careers by Personality Type & Interest

Search Tips

  • Search for careers by personality type by clicking on "Occupational Personality Types" on the menu to the left. 

(click on image to enlarge)

Search screen showing a list of personality types and related careers

Additional Career Research Tools (Rich-text content = ACCESSIBLE 5/25)

Career Research Tools on the Web

Use the websites listed below to find more information about careers. Find information about what jobs relate to your interests, job characteristics, job pay range, education requirements, job availability, the characteristics of people who do well in that field, and more. 

Finding Info in Educational Films

Use the Holman Library streaming video collection to find educational videos on choosing a career and getting a job in the field. You can watch an entire show or find relevant chapters, called "segments" on your topic.

You may access Films on Demand off campus. Just go through the library website and enter your SID when prompted.

Follow The Steps Below

  1. First, select the full menu option in the upper left, by clicking on the stacked lines - as shown in the image below.
  2. From the drop down menu, click Careers & Job Search

(click on image to enlarge)Screenshot of the Films on Demand database showing menu tool, and the drop down option for career and job research

  1. Then use the dropdown box near the top of the results to focus your career research by topic - such as Career exploration, Career Fields, Job Search Skills, Job Success Skills. Each major area is further broken down by sub-topic. 

screenshot of the database page showing how to pick a larger topic to see the more narrow sections under each, as outlined in the text above the image.

Note: You can also try typing in keywords, such as "engineering career." 

Strategies for Finding Career Books in Holman Library

  • Browse the book shelves for call #s 331.702* or 650.14* to see a range of books on choosing a career. We also have a select few titles on the Essential College Skills shelves near the Reference Desk.
  • Browse series such as Great Jobs for __________ Majors. 
  • Don't forget that we have lots of electronic books and videos too! You can find and access them through the One Search Tool.
  • Browse subject keywords: Vocational guidance or College choice. Here's another interesting Subject Heading for you to browse: Environmental sciences--Vocational guidance.
  • Search by keyword - for example: Career AND accounting

Holman Library logo

Sample Titles

Professional or Trade Publications

To learn more about a career or industry, it can be helpful to read articles on current news, issues, and trends in that field.

Finding Trade Journals

Trade publications contain articles written for professionals in a specific industry.

Use the library database ProQuest to search for articles within trade publications.

  1. Type in a relevant keyword. Ex: hydrologist
  2. Limit to Full Text.
  3. Under Source Type, select Trade Journals.

Here's a screenshot that illustrates these steps. 

(click on image to enlarge)

ProQuest Advanced Search - finding trade journals

Why research careers?

woman working on an airplane wing, black and white photo

image source below

Things you might want to know before choosing a career:
  • How much money will I make?
  • Can I get this job in Washington?
  • How much school will I have to complete?
  • Do I need to take lots of math classes?

The sources on this page will help you answer these kinds of questions.

Image source: Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. "Workers of many races push plane output" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1939 - 1945. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47de-8198-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Beyond Our Collection: Interlibrary Loan

Using the Interlibrary Loan Service

InterLibrary Loan: No library has it all! But the InterLibrary Loan (or ILL) is a service offered by Holman Library for borrowing books and articles from other libraries. InterLibrary Loan requests are free to current GRC students, faculty and staff.

Search Widely

For your research, it is important to search many places.

  • First, start with the books and articles available through the Holman Library.

  • Then, If you find books and articles that the Library does NOT have access to, just request them through Interlibrary Loan.

  • Using Interlibrary Loan increases the amount of resources available to you and helps you become a more thorough researcher.

Note:

  • Books and other items that require mailing may take 1-2 weeks.

  • Articles and other digital items may arrive within 2-5 days. Use your email as your contact info and the article will be sent directly to you.

If you need help filling out this form, call the library reference desk at (253) 931-6480.

Other places you can search...

Use the links below to look for books, articles and more beyond our collection:

Branch Campuses

We Deliver!

We deliver library materials through campus mail to students, faculty, and staff at Auburn Center, Kent, and Enumclaw!

You may request the following:

  • Books from the Main, Oversized, and Basic Skills collections
  • Photocopies of journal articles

Making a Request

To request an item, please use the "Request a Delivery" form just below. If you have questions, contact the Holman Library Circulation Desk:

Source: "How to Place Requests for Items from Library Shelves" by Holman Library is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 4.0

Learn how to place and cancel requests for items from library shelves.
Please return books:
  • To an office staff member at Auburn Center, Kent or Enumclaw.
  • Or to the library on the Main Campus.
Keep photocopies:
  • You don't have to return the photocopies that you request.