LibGuides: ENGL 180 Children's Literature: Find Background Info on Children's Lit

Reference Databases - collections of reference books

Using Reference Books

Reference book articles (in print or in library databases) are a great place to start learning.

They will provide you with:

Background info
Key names
History
Concepts and definitions
& more.

Note: *Print Reference books are available for use while at Holman Library, but check the Reference databases GVRL and Biography in Context for online content.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes: Writer's for Children, What Do Children and Young Adults Read Next, and UXL Graphic Novelist

Children's Literature
A 2006 article from American History Through Literature 1870-1920
Children's Literature and Songs
A 2011 article from the Encyclopedia of Asian American Folklore and Folklife
Gender Images in Children's Literature
A 2009 article from the Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Young Adult and Children's Literature
A 20012 article from American Decades
Books for Children
A 2007 article from the Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media

Reference Collection

The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature by Hahn, Danie
Call Number: 809.89282 H148o 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Reference Collection
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Young Adult Literature by Bonnie Kunzel (editor); Deb Wooten (editor); Bernice E. Cullinan
Call Number: 809.892 C762 2005 & online
ISBN: 0826417108
Publication Date: 2005
Available in Reference Collection -- in-library use only
Major Authors and Illustrators for Children and Young Adults: A Selection of Sketches from Something about the Author
Call Number: 809.892 M234 2002
Reference Collection--in-library use only
Folktales and Fairy Tales: Traditions and Texts from around the World by Anne E. Duggan, Donald Haase, and Helen J. Callow,
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2016
Accessed through Gale Ebooks
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Jack Zipes (editor)
Call Number: 809.892 O98 2006
ISBN: 0195146565
Publication Date: 2006
Available in Reference Collection--in-library use only