LibGuides: BIOL 103: Introduction to Botany (Bodas): Find Magazine Articles & Educational Videos

Find Science Reporting in Magazine Articles & Multimedia

Find Magazines in Library Databases
Find Multimedia

Find an Informed Conversation on your Topic in Current News Media

Find Magazines in Library Databases

Start with your Keywords
Search
Limit to Magazines (you can try feature articles in newspapers, but be sure you only use sources that have substance.)
Set a data limit to find info that is current enough.
In this example I search for fungi OR fungus AND econom*. I limited to magazines since 2017.

fungi OR fungus AND econom*

Limiters for magazine and date

Science In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers in addition to experiments and projects. Includes images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Environmental Studies in Context - GREENR (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference books and multimedia on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.

Find Science Journalism in Multimedia

In Holman Library

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for films on many topics, such as Anthropology, Biology, Business & Economics, Careers, and many more.

Finding Videos Using One Search
Using Advanced Search to locate videos available through the Holman Library

Online Multimedia Science Journalism

Science Friday
A science radio program/website from National Public Radio (with links to reliable source material).
KUOW: news radio science & tech reporting
KUOW Environmental Reporting
KNKX - Environmental Reporting

Learning more about your topic

Why use magazine articles?

Find credible news articles in library databases.

When you search the library's multidisciplinary periodical databases, most articles in your results are either from a newspaper, magazine, or scholarly journal.

You are required to find credible articles or educational videos for your assignment. I suggest the resources on this page for magazine articles and films.

Why use magazine articles?

Magazine articles are written for a general audience and explore current issues of interest in some depth.
Specialty magazines, such as Scientific American, are a great source of accessible, credible science news.

Films on Demand database

Use the library's Films on Demand database to find loads of great short educational films in the sciences.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for films on many topics, such as Anthropology, Biology, Business & Economics, Careers, and many more.

You can watch an entire show or find relevant chapters, called "segments" on your topic.

Films on Demand is a streaming video collection. To watch off-campus, just access through the library and enter your SID when prompted.