LibGuides: Natural Resources: Find Articles

Types of Articles in GRC Databases

Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Research Articles

Types of articles in the natural and social sciences include:

A Research article reports on an original experiment or study that investigates a stated problem. The study is carefully controlled so that results are valid. Data is collected and analyzed.

A Literature Review summarizes and analyzes the important articles on a topic. Literature reviews are a great resource for learning about the scope of research, question, issues and theories in a field.

A Theoretical article is an article that presents a theoretical approach to a question or field. It draws on others' research to support the theory, rather than presenting new research and data.

Magazine Articles

Types include:

in-depth information about current events (magazines).
information or opinions about popular culture (magazines).
further information about a field of study or issue (trade journals).

Holman Library Primo One Search

Use Holman Library One Search to:

Search for books, CDs, videos and articles in Holman Library
Get an overview of information on a subject
Track down citations

Sample Search:

This sample search of "green tea" in the image below found over 79,508 books, articles, videos.

Use "Advanced Search" to add additional search options.
The "Filter My Results" options on the left let you sort by type (books, videos, articles), location (library items), and date.

(click on image to enlarge)

Find Articles in Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search 2,000 full-text scholarly peer-reviewed journals in Science, Social Sciences, Humanities and Health Sciences
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
AGRICOLA (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library, covering journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Search high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Environmental Studies in Context - GREENR (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.

Holman Library Databases by Subject
See all of the library's database collections, sorted by subject area. This list is a good place to see the entire list of electronic article resources available in a specific field. You will need to log in with your GRC email address and password to access off-campus.

EXAMPLE SEARCH

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the full text article in Agricola or another database?

Ask the Holman Library to get it for you with an Interlibrary Loan:

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and articles from other libraries using ILL

Journal of Forestry

Journal of Forestry
Online full-text access to articles on topics in the forestry field and related disciplines (fire, recreation, soils, wildlife management) back to 1902.