LibGuides: ENGL 127 Research Writing: Social Sciences (Pittser): Sample Topic: Gender as Non-Binary

Why do research?

You will find gems, such as this podcast:

The Hidden Brain, a podcast on current research in the social sciences, aired this fascinating podcast on non-binary gender research and debates.

Nature, Nurture, And Our Evolving Debates About Gender
An episode of Hidden Brain from National Public Radio (NPR). Originally aired 2017, reposted here - a 52 minute listen with transcripts

Sample Approach: Gender in Cross Cultural Context

Possible keyword searches on Third Gender and Gender Nonbinary individuals in cultures around the world:

Experiment with different keywords and subject terms to find information. For example:

Third Gender
Third Sex
Transgender
Multiple Genders
Intersexuality
Gender Identity
Nonbinary Gender

Note that ProQuest uses the Subject Term "Transgendered Persons," while Academic Search Complete uses "TRANSGENDER people."

You can also try culturally specific terms:

Hijra
Kathoey
Bakla
Two-Spirit
Berdache
Muxes

Tip: Try a search using a subject term or keyword AND a nation.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Database Tutorial: Academic OneFile Advanced Search(Gale)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search 2,000 full-text scholarly peer-reviewed journals in Science, Social Sciences, Humanities and Health Sciences
Archives of Sexuality & Gender (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Access over 1.5 million pages of full-text primary sources about social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. This database offers a detailed global view of LGBTQ history.