LibGuides: Geographic Information Systems (GIS): Finding Articles

Types of Articles in GRC Databases

Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Research Articles

Types of articles in the natural and social sciences include:

A Research article reports on an original experiment or study that investigates a stated problem. The study is carefully controlled so that results are valid. Data is collected and analyzed.

A Literature Review summarizes and analyzes the important articles on a topic. Literature reviews are a great resource for learning about the scope of research, question, issues and theories in a field.

A Theoretical article is an article that presents a theoretical approach to a question or field. It draws on others' research to support the theory, rather than presenting new research and data.

Magazine Articles

Types include:

in-depth information about current events (magazines).
information or opinions about popular culture (magazines).
further information about a field of study or issue (trade journals).

TIP

Can't find the full text of an article?

1. Note down the author, title of article, name of the magazine, journal or newspaper, and date of publication

2. Make an Interlibrary Loan Request so that the article can be sent to Green River
for you (note: online articles usually take about 3 business day; physical items (like books) may take a few weeks)

3. Or Ask a Librarian for help!

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and articles from other libraries using ILL
Ask a Librarian
Get help in-person, by email, phone, or 24/7 chat from a librarian!

Find Articles in Databases

These ARTICLE DATABASES will help you find journal, magazine and newspapers articles that are often not freely accessible on the internet.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.

Find magazines, journals, newspapers in all academic disciplines
Type combinations of specific search words in the search boxes
You must check the "full text" option below the search boxes to find the full text of an article

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)

Find magazines, journals, newspapers in all academic disciplines
Type combinations of specific search words in the search boxes
You must check the "full tex" option below the search boxes to find the full text of an article

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search 2,000 full-text scholarly peer-reviewed journals in Science, Social Sciences, Humanities and Health Sciences

Find scholarly journal articles in all academic disciplines.
Works well for topics in literature, sociology and history
Type very specific (not broad!) search words in the search boxes

PLoS One - Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window
An interactive open-access journal for the communication of all peer-reviewed scientific and medical research.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Search high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.

Holman Library Databases by Subject
See all of the library's database collections, sorted by subject area. This list is a good place to see the entire list of electronic article resources available in a specific field. You will need to log in with your GRC email address and password to access off-campus.

EXAMPLE SEARCH