Skip to Main Content

ENGL 164 Film as Literature: Find Scholarly Sources

Search for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles

1. Academic Search Complete - Limit to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals 

2. JSTOR - limit to Articles

Search ^ (in JSTOR): [ti:("apocalypse now")]

Sample Result: Kinder, Marsha. "The Power of Adaptation in 'Apocalypse Now'." Film Quarterly 33.2 (Winter 1979-1980): 12-20. Web. 31 Jan. 2013.

3. Google Scholar

Search ^ (in Google Scholar): [character AND "to kill a mockingbird" AND (movie* OR film*)]

 

 

 

 

Sample Result ^

Holcomb, Mark. "To Kill a mockingbird. Film Quarterly, 55(4), (2002).34-40. ProQuest. Web. 2 Feb. 2013.

Note: See how Google Scholar results include some journals accessible only through the library ("Full text @ Green River")? Make sure you turn the library option on if you're using Google Scholar!

How do you know if it's scholarly? Test yourself!

Compare the following two articles. One is a film review and the other is a scholarly analysis. 

Popular Scholarly
 

Library Databases

What should you type in the search box? 

Try these strategies: 
Keywords:
  • Title of film and/or story
  • Title of film and/or story AND creator
  • Title of film and/or story AND criticism
  • Title of film and/or story AND theme
  • Theme AND "science fiction"
Examples: 
  • "Linguistic Relativity" AND "science fiction"
  • ("Free will" OR choice OR determinism) AND "science fiction"
  • dystopia AND equality AND "science fiction"
Subjects: 
  • MOTION pictures    
  • DYSTOPIAN films    
  • FILM adaptations
  • FILM adaptations of American fiction
  • MOTION pictures & literature
  • FILM criticism    
  • AMERICAN films -- History & criticism
  • FILM theory
  • EXPERIMENTAL films -- History & criticism
  • SCIENCE fiction -- History & criticism    
  • SCIENCE fiction    
  • Modern American Literature -- Criticism And Interpretation 
  • Dystopias -- Analysis 

Search beyond Holman Library

And borrow for free with InterLibrary Loan:

Stuck?

Use the link above to go "Library Research"  guide wher eyou can get help getting started, look at these "cheat sheets" on how to:

  • Find Articles
  • Identify Search Words
  • Use Smart Search Strategies

Other tips:

  • Why search the databases? Holman Library provides access to thousands of articles Google can't search--the library pays, so you don't have to!

  • Use "Advanced Search" for more power.

  • Using databases off-campus? You will need your Student ID.

  • Each database is separate. If you don't find anything, try a different database or the library catalog! 

  • Many databases provide "email" & "cite" buttons to help you keep track of your research as you go along. Use them!

  • We don't have it? Try Interlibrary Loan using the link below.