LibGuides: CMST 220 Public Speaking (Reiser): Finding magazine, news, & journal articles

Why magazine & journals?

Use magazine articles

Search online for the following local newspapers:

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search for literary work overviews and author biographies plus scholarly literary criticism and analysis of authors and their works - novels, short stories, poetry, and drama including Shakespeare plays.

These ARTICLE DATABASES will help you find journal, magazine and newspapers articles that are often not freely accessible on the internet.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.

Find magazines, journals, newspapers in all academic disciplines
Type combinations of specific search words in the search boxes
You must check the "full text" option below the search boxes to find the full text of an article

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)

Find magazines, journals, newspapers in all academic disciplines
Type combinations of specific search words in the search boxes
You must check the "full text" option below the search boxes to find the full text of an article

JSTOR This link opens in a new window Search 2,000 full-text scholarly peer-reviewed journals in Science, Social Sciences, Humanities and Health Sciences

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and abstracts for communication journals covering all related disciplines including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search all Gale databases with a single search
Database Tutorial: Gale Basic Search & Topic Finder
Database Tutorial: Gale Academic OneFile Advanced Search
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.

Holman Library Databases by Subject
See all of the library's database collections, sorted by subject area. This list is a good place to see the entire list of electronic article resources available in a specific field. You will need to log in with your GRC email address and password to access off-campus.

EXAMPLE SEARCH

Google News is a powerful tool to search local news and archival (historical) news. Try the Advanced Search to limit by date or place of publication.

Google News
Use Google News to find general news stories from current papers, magazines, and websites.
more...less...
Be aware some items may require a personal subscription to read (but can be requested by students through Interlibrary Loan).