LibGuides: CMST 220 Public Speaking (Reiser): Finding statistics

Where Can I Find Statistics?

Strategies for Finding Statistics

Many statistics are gathered by government agencies (for example, the U.S. Department of Energy) or large organizations (for example, The American Cancer Society.) To search within government websites, include "site:.gov" in a google or other search engine search.
However, you can also find good statistics within books or journal, magazine or newspaper articles.
When you find statistics, check the source of the data. In other words, does the book, article or website list where the statistics came from? Do they come from a reputable or well-known source? If not, attempt to find statistics from a more trustworthy source.

Research Guide: Statistics
by Jennifer Rohan Last Updated Apr 10, 2024 70 views this year

General Collections of Statistics

Katie's Most Recommended Statistics Search Tools

Good for "public opinion" polls

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides reports and statistics on the issues, attitudes and social trends shaping America and the world.

Good for "informational" statistics

Examples: cost or value of businesses or issues; health statistics; population statistics; education statistics; safety statistics; environmental statistics...
Try it out: Search your main topic keyword and "statistics" (Example: '"U.S. renters" statistics')

USA.gov
The portal to all official U.S. Government agencies, departments, publications, and more.

Additional Statistics Resources

Population Reference Bureau
Find stats on population and topics such as economy, education and health. Includes data for the United States and the World
U.S. Census Bureau: Statistical Abstract 2012
An invaluable resource for statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the US. It includes data from the US Census Bureau, labor statistics, and other federal and private agencies. You may also search past years. Later editions available in reference section of Holman Library (call # 317.3 US844).
U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Census data reflects the demographic make-up of the U.S., with figures on family size and structure, income, health insurance coverage, and much, much more.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Statistics from around the world on topics such as literacy, science, education, etc. From a branch of the United Nations.
World Bank: Statistics
"Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe." Mostly on economics & world resources (climate change impacts, growth indicators, etc.)

Recommended Statistics Sources

USA.gov
The portal to all official U.S. Government agencies, departments, publications, and more.

Good for "informational" statistics

Examples: cost or value of businesses or issues; health statistics; population statistics; education statistics; safety statistics; environmental statistics...
Try it out: Search your main topic keyword and "statistics" (Example: '"U.S. renters" statistics')

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides reports and statistics on the issues, attitudes and social trends shaping America and the world.

What it covers:

Pew Research Center provides data-driven reports and non-partisan public polling for social issues in the United States and (to a more limited extent) internationally:

(click on the image to see the full example report)

How to find it:

In order to see the different categories and world regions Pew has produced reports on, choose "Research Topics" near the top of the screen:

Choose the Research Topics tab
You can filter reports by topic theme, or
geographical region.

(click on the image to expand)

Population Reference Bureau
Find stats on population and topics such as economy, education and health. Includes data for the United States and the World
U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Census data reflects the demographic make-up of the U.S., with figures on family size and structure, income, health insurance coverage, and much, much more.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Statistics from around the world on topics such as literacy, science, education, etc. From a branch of the United Nations.
World Bank: Statistics
"Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe." Mostly on economics & world resources (climate change impacts, growth indicators, etc.)