Skip to Main Content
Algebra
First Course in Linear Algebra
"The book begins with systems of linear equations, then covers matrix algebra, before taking up finite-dimensional vector spaces in full generality. The final chapter covers matrix representations of linear transformations, through diagonalization, change of basis and Jordan canonical form" Beta version. By Robert Beezer, of U of Puget Sound.
Elementary Algebra
A free, online textbook from OpenStax.
Intermediate Algebra
A free, online textbook from OpenStax.
College Algebra
A free, online textbook from OpenStax.
Algebra and Trigonometry
A free, online textbook from OpenStax.
Matrix Operations
"Matrix Equality, Addition, Scalar Multiplication." Part of the online text," A First Course in Linear Algebra" (Beta Version), by Robert A. Beezer. of U. of Puget Sound
Arithmetic | Algebra
From integers and fractions to solving quadratic equations by factoring. Explores "concepts necessary to successfully proceed to [college] credit-level math courses."
Intermediate Algebra (A Concept Maps Approach)
" This Intermediate Algebra textbook was developed with consideration of neuroscience principles about learning. It is organized around the concepts of 'solving' and 'graphing'. The problem sets incorporate distributed and mixed practice to promote long term memory formation for the concepts and procedures involved in each section."
The Essence of Mathematics Through Elementary Problems
"The book consists of six chapters of increasing sophistication (Mental Skills; Arithmetic; Word Problems; Algebra; Geometry; Infinity), with interleaved commentary."
Modeling, Functions, and Graphs (Open Textbook Library)
Covers "the content of a typical college algebra course with an emphasis on functions and modeling"
Open Resources for Community College Algebra
From Portland Community College and Open Textbook Library
College Algebra (online course)
" Topics include linear inequalities, graphing, exponents, polynomials, and rational expressions." Online course from Saylor Academy.
Algebra (online course)
This "real world math" course covers "how to use standard mathematical and business formulas, and how to translate verbal descriptions into mathematical equations to establish relationships and create predictions, . . . how to use graphs to make these same predictions, [and] . . . apply the problem-solving strategies . . .to business, science, and many other fields."
Linear Algebra by Juan Jorge Schäffer
In the spirit of the author's Basic Language of Mathematics, this companion volume is a careful exposition of the concepts and processes of Linear Algebra. It stresses cautious and clear explanations, avoiding reliance on co-ordinates as much as possible, and with special, but not exclusive, attention to the finite-dimensional situation. It is intended to also serve as a conceptual and technical background for use in geometry and analysis as well as other applications.
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9814623504
Publication Date: 2014
Algebra Essentials by David A. Santos; Olgha Davis
Designed for the person who needs to learn algebra as a prerequisite for further study or for a refresher course before moving on, the book covers all of the basic algebra concepts such as variables, equations, quadratic equations, factoring algebraic expressions, exponents, roots, radicals, and more. It includes numerous step by step examples and practice exercises that help the reader to understand the topics in a "self-study" format, designed for those who are uncomfortable with mathematics. The companion disc includes self-correcting exercises and all the figures from the text. Instructor resources available for use in course adoptions. eBook Customers: Companion files are available for downloading with order number/proof of purchase by writing to the publisher at info@merclearning.com. FEATURES: *Presents basic concepts in an easy to understand style, designed for those who are uncomfortable with mathematics *Provides hundreds of step by step examples and practice exercises that help the reader to understand the topics in a "self-study" format *Includes a companion disc with self-correcting exercises and all the figures from the text BRIEF TABLE OF CONTENTS: Part I. First Impressions. Why Study Algebra? Part II. Arithmetic Review. Arithmetic Operations. Part III. Algebraic Operations. Addition and Subtraction. Multiplication. Division. Part IV. Equations. Linear Equations in One Variable Expressions. Quadratic Equations in One Variable. Expressions. Part V. Inequalities. Linear Inequalities. Appendices. Review Exercises. Answers Keys. Theorems, Corollaries, & Proofs. Key Words. Index.
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 1937585344
Publication Date: 2016
Linear Algebra: Step by Step by Kuldeep Singh
Linear algebra is a fundamental area of mathematics, and is arguably the most powerful mathematical tool ever developed. It is a core topic of study within fields as diverse as: business, economics, engineering, physics, computer science, ecology, sociology, demography and genetics.For an example of linear algebra at work, one needs to look no further than the Google search engine, which relies upon linear algebra to rank the results of a search with respect to relevance.The strength of the text is in the large number of examples and the step-by-step explanation of each topic as it is introduced. It is compiled in a way that allows distance learning, with explicit solutions to set problems freely available online. The miscellaneous exercises at the end of each chapter comprise questions from past exam papers from various universities, helping to reinforce the reader's confidence. Also included, generally at the beginning of sections, are short historicalbiographies of the leading players in the field of linear algebra to provide context for the topics covered.The dynamic and engaging style of the book includes frequent question and answer sections to test the reader's understanding of the methods introduced, rather than requiring rote learning. When first encountered, the subject can appear abstract and students will sometimes struggle to see its relevance; to counter this, the book also contains interviews with key people who use linear algebra in practice, in both professional and academic life. It will appeal to undergraduate students inmathematics, the physical sciences and engineering.
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0191507768
Publication Date: 2013
Introductory Modern Algebra: A Historical Approach by Saul Stahl
Praise for the First Edition "Stahl offers the solvability of equations from the historical point of view...one of the best books available to support a one-semester introduction to abstract algebra." --CHOICE Introductory Modern Algebra: A Historical Approach, Second Edition presents the evolution of algebra and provides readers with the opportunity to view modern algebra as a consistent movement from concrete problems to abstract principles. With a few pertinent excerpts from the writings of some of the greatest mathematicians, the Second Edition uniquely facilitates the understanding of pivotal algebraic ideas. The author provides a clear, precise, and accessible introduction to modern algebra and also helps to develop a more immediate and well-grounded understanding of how equations lead to permutation groups and what those groups can inform us about such diverse items as multivariate functions and the 15-puzzle. Featuring new sections on topics such as group homomorphisms, the RSA algorithm, complex conjugation, the factorization of real polynomials, and the fundamental theorem of algebra, the Second Edition also includes: An in-depth explanation of the principles and practices of modern algebra in terms of the historical development from the Renaissance solution of the cubic equation to Dedekind's ideals Historical discussions integrated with the development of modern and abstract algebra in addition to many new explicit statements of theorems, definitions, and terminology A new appendix on logic and proofs, sets, functions, and equivalence relations Over 1,000 new examples and multi-level exercises at the end of each section and chapter as well as updated chapter summaries Introductory Modern Algebra: A Historical Approach, Second Edition is an excellent textbook for upper-undergraduate courses in modern and abstract algebra.
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 1118837525
Publication Date: 2014
Inequalities: Algebra Nspirations
Streaming video.Segments include lineqr equalities, equations and inequalities, linear equality graph, etc.
Khan Academy: Algebra I
Lessons, including streaming videos, from Khan Academy.
Khan Academy: Algebra 2
Lessons, including streaming videos, from Khan Academy.
Khan Academy: Linear Algebra
Lessons, including streaming videos, from Khan Academy.
Gauss-Jordan Elimination
"From Thinkwell's College Algebra."
Rational Functions and Expressions
Streaming video. Solving systems with algebra, matrices, etc.
Variables and Equations
Streaming video. "The video includes a thorough explanation of the concept of equations, and how to solve for “x” in an algebraic expression. Part of the series Algebra Applications. "
Virtual Math Lab
Online tutorials in Beginning, Intermediate, and College Algebra, and math-test prep, from West Texas A&M University.
eMathInstruction
Lessons in algebra, geometry, and trigonometry. Some resources require subscription, but video lessons are free.
Geometrical View of the Elimination Method
"When the elimination method is used to solve a system of linear equations, viewing the geometric changes that happen to the system during this process can give insight into the mechanisms which underlie the logic behind the algebraic method of elimination of variables." Video from Why U.
Matrix Algebra
"Topics covered include matrix operations, linear equations, determinants, eigenvectors and eigenvalues." From S.O.S. Mathematics.
Finite Mathematics
Tutorials, videos, games, etc. Subjects include functions, mathematics of finance, linear equations, matrix algebra, probability, and more.
Virtual Math Lab
Online tutorials in Beginning, Intermediate, and College Algebra, and math-test prep, from West Texas A&M University.
eMathInstruction
Lessons in algebra, geometry, and trigonometry. Some resources require subscription, but video lessons are free.
Algebraic Equations: Formulas, Proportions & Operations by
This guide outlines basic algebraic equations, formulas, properties & operations.
