As part of your final persuasive essay, you will write an annotated bibliography of five sources you are considering using for your paper.
For each source you will provide an MLA citation and a single paragraph where you evaluate whether the source will be useful for your project including why/how it will be useful.
MLA (Modern Language Association) Style is used in Literature, Arts, and Humanities disciplines. Always consult your assignment or ask your instructor for the correct citation style to use
Basic Format:
(Author's Last Name Page number or numbers)
| Explanation | Example |
|---|---|
|
Chocolate is often viewed as a junk food, but its value as unique nutritional source should not be underestimated. In fact, a survey of early South Pole explorer diaries shows that larger chocolate rations “may have been a deciding factor between Roald Amundsen’s successful trek to the South Pole and the fatal attempt by Robert Scott” (West 110). The fact that chocolate was not seen as a frivolity, but deemed important enough staple to pack on these grueling expeditions is a testament to its value in the human diet. Also, there is the more modern comparison that M&M’s chocolate candies were chosen for military expeditions in World War II because they were an energy boosting snack that also did not easily melt (Mirrer). |
Basic Format:
(Author's Last Name Page number or numbers)
1 Author
Tina Rodriguez found that "social inclusion prevents clinical depression" (13). *use first and last name at first mention, last name only thereafter
Coauthors
3 or more Authors
Strong and others have shown that the rate of male infidelity is not dramatically different than that of female infidelity” (222). *"and colleagues" is also acceptable
2 or more works in one citation
Plays [Play name Act.Scene line#-line#]
"He was my master and I wore my life to spend upon his haters" (Antony and Cleopatra 5.1 8-9). [indicates Act 5, Scene 1, lines 8-9]
Corporate/government Author
Shorten long corporate (organization) and government names
...shortened to its initial noun phrase (Modern Language Association, 304)
[full corporate author = the Modern Language Association of America]
No Author
[full title = “Weather Patterns Wreak Havoc for Oklahoma Farmers”]
No Page Number
...Orissi dance has undergone a major revival since the 1950s (Gupta).
Article from a database:
Cooper, Mary H. "America's Pampered Pets." CQ Researcher, vol. 6, no. 48, 27 Dec. 1996, pp. 1129-52. CQ Researcher Online, library.cqpress.com.ezproxy.greenriver.edu/cqresearcher/document.php?id=cqres. Accessed 6 Nov. 2000.
Journal article from a database:
Doyle, Christine. "Louisa May Alcott: New Texts and Contexts." Children's Literature. vol.27, 1999, pp. 211-17. ProQuest. search.proquest.com/docview/195572106?accountid=1558. Accessed 15 Sep. 2016.
Journal article from a database with a doi:
DeMaria, Anthony N. "A Structure for Deoxyribose Nucleic Acid." Journal of the American College of Cardiology, vol. 42, no. 2, 2003, pp. 373-74. ProQuest Periodicals, https://doi.og/10.1016/S0735-1097(03)00800-3. Accessed 15 Sept. 2016.
Journal article with two authors:
Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball. "Engaging Students in Storytelling." Teacher Librarian, vol. 33, no. 4, 2006, pp. 28-31. Academic OneFile, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=20502611&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 20 Oct. 2003.
Journal article with three or more authors:
Brinkworth, Grant D., et al. "Long-Term Effects of a very-Low-Carbohydrate Weight Loss Diet Compared with an Isocaloric Low-Fat Diet After 12 Mo." American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, vol. 90. no. 1, 2009,p.23.ProQuest Research Library, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/231940252?accountid=1558 Accessed 15 Sep. 2016.
*for 3 or more authors, just list the first author (last, first), followed by et. al. as shown here.
Journal article with no author:
Anonymous. "Estate Planning for Fido and Fluffy" Journal of Financial Planning, vol. 20, no. 11, Nov. 2007, p. 14. ProQuest Research Library, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/217550151?accountid=1558. Accessed 15 Jan. 2008.
Newspaper article:
Berthelsen, Christian. "Mattel Sues Publisher Over Barbie Essays." New York Times, late ed., 6 Dec. 1999, sec. C, p. 18. ProQuest Periodicals, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/431324106?accountid=1558. Accessed 4 June 2013.
Magazine article:
Fowler, Paige. "The Imperfect Man's Guide To Perfect Health." Men's Health, vol.30, no. 10, Dec. 2015, pp. 70-72. Academic Search Complete, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/ login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=11067671
8&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 15 Sept. 2016.
Original Content in a Database:
"Nursing Assistants - Duties." Career Planner, SchoolData. Accessed 20 Nov. 2020.
The following citation is for an article, a report, located within the database CQ Researcher.
Cooper, Mary H. "America's Pampered Pets." CQ Researcher, vol. 6, no. 48, 27 Dec. 1996, pp. 1129-52. CQ Researcher Online, library.cqpress.com.ezproxy.gree
nriver.edu/cqresearcher/document.php?id=cqres. Accessed 6 Nov. 2020.
This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.
| Author, | Cooper, Mary H. |
| Title of Source. | America's Pampered Pets. |
| Title of Container, | CQ Researcher |
| Contributors, | |
| Version, | |
| Number, | vol. 6, no. 48 |
| Publisher, | CQ Researcher Online |
| Publication date, | 27 Dec. 1996 |
| Location. | pp. 1129-52 |
| Title of Container, | |
| Contributors, | |
| Version, | |
| Number, | |
| Publisher, | |
| Publication date, | |
| Location. |
ezproxy.greenriver.edu: 2048/login?url=http://library. cqpress.com.ezproxy. greenriver.edu/ cqresearcher/cqresrre 1996122700 |
| Access date. | Accessed 6 Nov. 2020. |
The following citation is for journal article, with two authors, located in a database.
Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball. "Engaging Students in Storytelling." Teacher Librarian, vol. 33, no. 4, 2006, pp. 28-31. Academic OneFile, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=20502611&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 20 Oct. 2003.
This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.
| Author. | Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball. |
| Title of Source. | "Engaging Students in Storytelling." |
| Title of Container, | Teacher Librarian |
| Contributors, | |
| Version, | |
| Number, | vol. 33, no. 4, |
| Publisher, | |
| Publication date, | 2006 |
| Location. | 28-31. |
| Title of Container, | Academic OneFile, |
| Contributors, | |
| Version, | |
| Number, | |
| Publisher, | |
| Publication date, | |
| Location. |
ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login? url=http://search.ebscohost. com/login.aspx?direct=true&db =aph&AN=20502611&site= ehost-live&scope=site. |
| Access date. | 20 Oct. 2020 |
eBooks from Library Databases:
Dzau, Victor J. and Mark A. Creager. "Chapter 231: Diseases of the Aorta." Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, McGraw-Hill, 1999. Access Medicine. ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=c8h&AN=109831540&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 7 Sept. 2006.
Kaplan, Temma. "Human Rights for Women Are Receiving Greater Attention." Human Rights, editerd by Laura K. Egendorf. Greenhaven Press, 2004. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&ccd=c8h&AN=107894466540&site=ehost-live&scope=t. Accessed 6 Nov. 2006.
"Narcissistic Personality Disorder." Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, APA, 2000. STAT!Ref. Teton Data Systems, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=117803135&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 24 Sept. 2016.
"Prairie Oysters." Rawson's Dictionary of Euphemisms and Other Doubletalk, Hugh Rawson, 2002. Credo Reference,ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?qurl=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/rawdeo/prarie_oy
sters/0. Accessed 24 Sep 2016.
Price, Joanna. "Bret Easton Ellis: Overview." Contemporary Novelists, 6th edition, edited by Susan Windisch Brown, St. James Press, 1996. Literature Resource Center. galegroup.com.ezproxy.greenriver.edu/ic/bic1/MagazinesDetailsPage/MagazinesDetails
​Window?disableHighlighting=false&displayGroupName=Magazines&currPage=&scanId=&query. Accessed 7 Jan. 2008.
The following citation is for a chapter within an electronic book.
Clark, Beverly Lyon. "Waxing Nostalgic, 1900-1930." The Afterlife of ‘Little Women’, Johns Hopkins University Press, 2013, pp. 43-101 Ebrary, www.site.ebrary.com.greenri
ver.edu. Accessed 13 Sept. 2016.
This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.
| Author. | Clark, Beverly Lyon. |
| Title of Source. | "Waxing Nostalgic, 1900-1930." |
| Title of Container, | " The Afterlife of ‘Little Women’, |
| Contributors, | |
| Version, | |
| Number, | |
| Publisher, | Johns Hopkins University Press, |
| Publication date, | 2013, |
| Location. | pp. 43-101. |
| Title of Container, | Ebrary, |
| Contributors, | |
| Version, | |
| Number, | |
| Publisher, | |
| Publication date, | |
| Location, | www.site.ebrary.com.greenri ver.edu. |
| Access date. | Accessed 13 Sept. 2016. |
**Note the use of two containers. The source is the book chapter. The first container is the larger source (the book title), and the second container is the database in which this book was accessed digitally (database name).
Include as much of the following as possible:
Author. Title of Source. Title of Container, Contributors, Version, Number, Publisher, Publication Date, Location. Date Accessed.
| Part of the Formula | Examples and Explanation |
|---|---|
| Author. | • one author: Last Name, rest of name as presented in the source. (example: Williams, Fred Laurence.) • two authors: reverse name of first author followed by a comma, then second author’s first name and then last name. (example: Cordell, Barbara, and Jane Buckle.) • more than two authors: reverse the name of the first author, follow with a comma and et al. (example: Browne, Charlene, et al.) |
| Title of Source. | • Put name of source in italics. • HOWEVER, if citing an article or only part of the source, instead put that title in quotation marks with no italics: “Article Name.” |
|
Title of Container, |
• When the source is part of a larger whole, the larger whole can be thought of as a container (example: a whole book is a container for a book chapter) • Put the title of the container in italics (if you have cited an article or part of the whole source container) |
| Contributors, | Example: edited by, |
| Version, | Example: 7th ed., |
| Number, | Any numbered sequence. Example: vol. 3, no. 7 |
| Publisher, | (however, no publisher is required for articles) |
| Publication date, | date as given on source but following this date style: 28 Jan. 2020, |
| Location. |
• Example of website: www.cnn.com (do not include http:// in the URL) |
