Green River LibGuides: Anatomy & Physiology: Finding Articles

Find A&P Articles in Library Databases

Useful Databases for A&P
Search Tips & Samples

Holman Library Databases

Holman Library subscribes to many relevant databases for your project.

Holman Library Databases by Subject
See all of the library's database collections, sorted by subject area. This list is a good place to see the entire list of electronic article resources available in a specific field. You will need to log in with your GRC email address and password to access off-campus.

Key Databases

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is a comprehensive source of full-text peer-reviewed and professional journals for nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health professions. CINAHL Ultimate features evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and instructional videos.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference books and multimedia on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.
Health and Medicine OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from medical journals and magazines, reference books and videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search for nursing, consumer health, alternative and complementary medicine, physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences within the millions of documents from ProQuest's electronic collections.
Tips: How to Search Nursing & Allied Health Source (Proquest)
Science and Technology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A resource for applied and general sciences. Search for articles on Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry and more. Includes Research Library: Science & Technology and SciTech Premium Collection.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
PLoS One - Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window
An interactive open-access journal for the communication of all peer-reviewed scientific and medical research.

Additional Useful Database

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. Includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

Database Search Tips

Note: The search below is an example from the CINAHL database, but tips apply to most databases

Use "Advanced Search" to give you more power when you search.

Brainstorm different keywords that represent the same concept like the ones you see here:

athletic injuries
sports injuries
cervical vertebrae injuries
neck injuries
spinal injuries

Use key words in search in combination with other narrowing terms of interest, such as the decision making process to re-enter play after a cervical vertebrae sports injury

(click on image to enlarge)

Use the built in filters near the top of the page to alter your results. You can limit to full text or peer reviewed articles, or by date. Click on the "All Filters" options to see a full panel of options.

(Click on image to enlarge)