LibGuides: MUSC 102 Global Pop Music & MUSC 104 Music in World Cultures (Mueller): Home

Welcome!

Welcome to your World / Global Pop Music Research Guide. Use the tabs above to navigate through the guide.

Need the handouts from the library sessions? Here you go:

Databases for Reference Articles

CultureGrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Cultural information, statistics, and reports on more than 200 countries and territories plus US states and Canadian provinces.
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
Country information--basic facts, population, history, economics, society & culture, basic greetings. Includes maps and photographs.
Bloomsbury Music and Sound This link opens in a new window
Search for global music genres, musicians, and places using the world map or the illustrated timeline to place albums and artists within their historical, political, and cultural context.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College
Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference entries, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, podcasts, and images covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers.

Databases for Magazine, Newspaper, & Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Gale Power Search This link opens in a new window
Search all Gale databases with a single search
Database Tutorial: Gale Basic Search & Topic Finder
Database Tutorial: Gale Academic OneFile Advanced Search
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search 2,000 full-text scholarly peer-reviewed journals in Science, Social Sciences, Humanities and Health Sciences

Websites & Repositories on the Open Web

The Rocket
Newspaper covering rock music in Seattle. Issues from 1979 - 2000 available online.
AllMusic - Explore by Genre
Though a commercial website, this place is good for doing some initial browsing - check the various genres in International music, or check the Pop/Rock section for some popular musical styles from your regions!
Google

Note: Google (or any other Internet search engine) can definitely be a good place to start exploring some possible topics. Just be careful - because there is so much stuff on the Internet, it can be difficult separating the reliable from the unreliable information! You'll need to be extra careful and research the website or author of the online article.

One Tip: Use Google to browse for some possible video topics. Then, go back to the databases at the library to check for reference articles, scholarly articles, or books on those topics. You may be surprised at what you find!