LibGuides: Research Guide: Images: Finding Images in the Library Databases

Art databases at Holman Library

Fine Arts OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals for fine arts fields -- drama, music, art history, and film studies
eBooks -- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Browse hundreds of fine art eBooks online.

Finding images in the databases

Searching for Images in the Databases

Some of the library's databases also house images, as well as articles. Academic Search Complete, along with some of the other databases from the Ebsco vendor, allow you to search for images. See the image below, as well as the additional tabs in this box, to see how to find images in these highlighted databases.

In Academic Search Complete, click on the "Images" tab at the very top of the search page. Then, search by keyword to locate images.

(Click on image to enlarge)

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.

Finding images in Opposing Viewpoints

Once you have logged into the database, perform a keyword search
When you see results, use the tools to limit to "Images"

(Click on image to enlarge)

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text viewpoint essays, topic overviews, journal articles, news, and statistics. A great place to find evidence to support argumentative essays.

Finding images in Biography in Context

In Biography in Context, carry out a keyword search, searching for the name of the person you're researching.
Then, once you see results, use the limiters to narrow your results to just "Images"

(Click on image to enlarge)

Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference entries, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, podcasts, and images covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers.

Additional Databases with Images

U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
In U.S. History in Context, carry out a keyword search, searching for the topic you're researching.
Then, once you see results, use the limiters to narrow your results to just "Images"
World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
In World History in Context, carry out a keyword search, searching for the topic you're researching.
Then, once you see results, use the limiters to narrow your results to just "Images"
CultureGrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Click the map in the World Edition to select a region or country. CultureGrams includes culturally relevant photos, slideshows and videos.