Skip to Main Content

General Reference & Additional Subject Encyclopedias

Online Resources For Finding Subject and General Reference Articles From Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

General Reference Books

The following resources are available through Holman Library databases.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2006
ProQuest Ebook Central--click title for access
Hutchinson Encyclopedia
ISBN: 9781859865415
Publication Date: 2006
ProQuest Ebook Central--click title for access

Subject Encyclopedias and General Reference Collections

The following resources are available through Holman Library databases.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College

Reference in Ebsco -- Ebooks Community College Collection
Search within 3000+ reference books across the disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and health.
Reference in ProQuest Ebook Central
A collection of searchable academic reference sources in multiple disciplines

Science Reference Source (EBSCO Explora) This link opens in a new window
For Reference only, open Advanced Search and select Reference under Publication Type.

General Reference Sources

The following resources are available for free or limited access through the web

Encyclopedia Britannica
Limited free access and features
Dictionary.com