Green River LibGuides: ENGL 101 English Composition 1 (Theme: Conspiracies &amp; Misinformation): Research Step 1: Explore Topic Ideas

Explore Topic Ideas

Find Ideas in Current Issues Databases

Browse for Topic Ideas in Holman Library's current issues databases.

Return to these databases to gather background information and to get a sense of the range of positions taken on an issue.

Note: Be sure to look for sources in other databases as well. Opposing Viewpoints is limited in content and focuses largely on the Viewpoint essays.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Full-text viewpoint essays, topic overviews, journal articles, news, and statistics. A great place to find evidence to support argumentative essays.
Global Issues in Context (Gale)
Full-text articles featuring global viewpoints on international issues, country reports, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and more

Global Issues in Context: Conspiracy Theory Viewpoints

Environmental Studies in Context - GREENR (Gale)
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.
CQ Researcher
Browse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.

How to Explore Gale in Context Databases

Follow these steps:

Look over broad topic areas on the homepage. This example illustrates the homepage for enviromental issues in context. (click on image to enlarge)

Click on a category that interests you - or go right to a topic! The image below show the list of 62 topics under Global Change. (Click on image to enlarge)

How to Explore Ideas in CQ Researcher

Step 1: Explore by Reports, Topics, or Hot Topics.

Hot Topics is a list of current short reports
Reports - select Issue Tracker for a list of Reports by Issue
Topics - select a broad area of interest and then filter down to topics of interest

click on image to enlarge

Gale eBooks
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College

Explore Topic Ideas in a Reference Collection

Reference, or Subject Encyclopedias, are a good place to:

browse for and explore topic ideas
find a narrower focus for a broad topic
- For example, if I start out with an interest in Conspiracy Theories, Gale eBooks helps me get a sense of the many topics I could research.

Tip: Once you start to learn about your topic, use reference sources to get informed about the basic.

Use Gale eBooks Reference to Explore Topic Ideas:

Option 1: Browse specific encyclopedia titles on conspiracy theories and misinformation.

Conspiracies and Conspiracy Theories in American History by Christopher R. Fee (Editor); Jeffrey B. Webb (Editor)
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781440858109

Publication Date: 2019-05-24

In Gale eBooks
Encyclopedia of Deception by Timothy R. Levine (Editor)
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781452258775

Publication Date: 2014-03-19

In Gale eBooks
American Myths, Legends, and Tall Tales by Christopher R. Fee (Editor); Jeffrey B. Webb (Editor)
Call Number: eBooks

ISBN: 9781610695671

Publication Date: 2016-08-29

In Gale eBooks
Encyclopedia of Urban Legends by Jan Harold Brunvand
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781598847208

Publication Date: 2012-07-16

In Gale eBooks

Option 2: Type in a Starting Idea and Explore Ways to Narrow and Focus that Idea

Step 1:

Type in a starting idea. Below I typed in "Conspiracy Theories"

conspiracy theories

Step 2:

Scroll through the list of article titles to gather ideas about conspiracy theories you could research.

Conspiracy Theory Results

Step 3:

Use the Subject Filter to Find Other Ideas

subject filter

Step 4:

Skim through a relevant-looking article for ideas on how to narrow and focus. The excerpt below is from the start of an article on Military and Intelligence Conspiracies and Conspiracy Theories. Possible subtopics / areas to explore include the intelligence service, Cold War myths, and American satellites.

Military and Intelligence Conspiracies and Conspiracy Theories

Explore Current News & Culture Media for Ideas

A Few Online Starting Places:

Explore Library News Databases:

Newspapers -- ProQuest Newspapers
National and Washington newspapers. To see included titles, enter the database, click on the Databases Selected; link at the top left, scroll down to ProQuest Newspapers and click on View Titles.
Newspapers -- Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Includes selected national, international and regional newspaper articles, as well as television and news radio transcripts.
Newspapers -- News OneFile (Gale)
Full-text U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. Includes TV and radio broadcasts, transcripts and images.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.

In Online Soures

The Seattle Times
Washington state's largest circulating newspaper. Print editions available in Holman Library
The News Tribune
Tacoma and regional newspaper, with local and national news section.
The New York Times (website)
Check out the day's news and issues in the online NY Times. Free online access is limited, Full text is available in the library's ProQuest database.
TED Talks
Talks that cover the gamut of current issues. Explore talks by Topic, including Science, Technology, and Business - Or search for a TED Talk on a specific subject. Be sure to assess: Is the speaker an expert on this topic?
The Freedom Forum: Today's Front Pages
The Freedom Forum is a nonpartisan 501 (c)(3) foundation that fosters First Amendment freedoms for all.
National Public Radio (NPR)
Independent and topical radio news. Be sure to check the long list of programs distributed through NPR.
Science Friday
A science radio program/website from National Public Radio (with links to reliable source material).
Marketplace Radio
PRX
Podcast and Broadcast Multimedia

Explore the Debate on Current Issues

Current Issues Databases

Look for Ideas & Arguments in Holman Library Current Issues Databases and in the News.

Viewpoints in Gale In Context Databases

In Gale In Context Databases (Opposing Viewpoints, Global Viewpoints, and Environmental Issues) explore VIEWPOINT essays for topic ideas from a range of perspectives.

The image below indicates there are 17 Featured Viewpoints and 159 Viewpoints in total on Universal Health Care.

Click on the image to enlarge.

Pro/ Con in CQ Researcher

In CQ Research look for the Pro/ Con section for a mini debate on an issue central to that report.

click on image to enlarge

Newspaper Editorials & Opinions

Explore editorials, opinion, and commentary in the news. To find these sources, at Document Type, select Editorial, Opinion, Commentary.

click on image to enlarge

Holman Library

ENGL 101 English Composition 1 (Theme: Conspiracies & Misinformation)

Explore Topic Ideas

Find Ideas in Current Issues Databases

How to Explore Gale in Context Databases

Look over broad topic areas on the homepage. This example illustrates the homepage for enviromental issues in context. (click on image to enlarge)

Click on a category that interests you - or go right to a topic! The image below show the list of 62 topics under Global Change. (Click on image to enlarge)

How to Explore Ideas in CQ Researcher

Explore Topic Ideas in a Reference Collection

Use Gale eBooks Reference to Explore Topic Ideas:

Option 1: Browse specific encyclopedia titles on conspiracy theories and misinformation.

Option 2: Type in a Starting Idea and Explore Ways to Narrow and Focus that Idea

Step 1:

Step 2:

Step 3:

Step 4:

Explore Current News & Culture Media for Ideas

A Few Online Starting Places:

Explore Library News Databases:

In Online Soures

Explore the Debate on Current Issues

Current Issues Databases

Viewpoints in Gale In Context Databases

Pro/ Con in CQ Researcher

Newspaper Editorials & Opinions

Topic Exploration is Research