ENGL 099 Introductory Composition

formerly English 100

Holman Library One Search

Searching the library's collection

Use the search box below to search for books, ebooks, videos, articles, and more!

Finding books in the library

Finding Books in the Library

So you've looked up a book in the library's catalog, but now what? How do you find it? 

Here's what you need to know. After searching in the library's catalog, you will see a results page like the one in the image below. Under the title of the book, you'll see more information.

More specifically...

  • You'll see a location and call number like this: Available at Holman Library Main Collection 363.738 C639 2011
  • ​Just write down this location and number. It's the Call number or address for the book on the shelves

OR

  • If the book is an online, or ebook, you'll see a link to "view online"
    • Just click the link and sign in with your student info, if prompted, and you'll be taken to the ebook in a database

(click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of the catalog search, showing where to look for the call number to locate print books

Each shelf in the library has a set of call numbers so you can take the number you wrote down from the catalog and use it to locate the print book. Stop by the reference desk and get help from a librarian; we're happy to help you find books in the library! 

What is a Call Number? 

The letters and numbers that you see on the spine of the book are called Call Numbers. These are unique to each book and provide information about the book. Believe it or not, the information on this little sticker can tell you what a book is about and where to find it in the library. Books inside the library are organized by the Dewey Decimal System. This means they are grouped by larger subjects. This means that if you browse by call number, you'll find other related books.

  • The example on the previous tab reads: Main Collection 363.738 C639 2011.
    On the side of the book it looks something like this: 

363.738
C639
2011

  • To locate this book in the library you would look first for the 300s section in the Main Collection (the tallest/longest row of bookshelves), then narrow it down to find the exact decimal number. 

(click on image to enlarge)

image of the spines of books, as they sit on the shelf - highlighting the call numbers

Image source: L, Greg. “Call Numbers of Books on Shelf.” Greene County Public Library, https://greenelibrary.info/blogs/post

Find books on the library shelves grouped by the Dewey Decimal System into subject areas:

(click on image to enlarge)

image of the second floor of the Holman Library

Ebooks

Ebook Databases

You can limit to just electronic books in the library's main search, OR you can simply search directly in one of the library's ebook databases. Try searching a title or topic (keywords) in any of the databases listed below.

Why use books?

Why Use Books?

Books...
  • can get you a historical perspective on your topic to see how it has evolved over time
  • often are written by authors who are experts or have taken the time to do research on a particular subject
  • help you understand the complexity your topic
When you find a book...
  • you do not have to read the whole book! Instead look at the table of contents in the front to find which chapters will be most helpful to you
  • look in the back of the book.  Often there is a list of sources that the author consulted when he or she wrote the book.  You might want to use these sources for your research, too!

Is a "good" book for your research? Be sure you evaluate it!