LibGuides: ENGL 101 English Composition 1 (Frazier): Examine the existing argument

Viewpoints essays in Opposing Viewpoints database

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window

Find Opinion in Viewpoints

Try the library's Opposing Viewpoints In Context database to find "Viewpoints Essays" on your topic.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a database with full-text essays covering current social issues.

A search of Viewpoints: Climate Change turns up 364 editorial and argumentative essays on topics from global warming and environmental policy to air pollution, sustainable development and natural disasters.

Use the left menu to narrow your search or try more specific keywords.

Browsing the Climate Change collection in Opposing Viewpoints is useful for generating argument ideas, as well as for finding reference articles, periodical articles, and more.

Image: "Wisconsin Corn Goes to Ethanol." Opposing Viewpoints. Web. Nov 5, 2012.

Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles featuring global viewpoints on international issues, country reports, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and more
Environmental Studies in Context - GREENR (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues covering energy systems, health care, agriculture, climate change, population, and economic development.

Editorials and Op-eds

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)

Newspaper Editorials

Editorials are a great way to find reasoned opinions on current controversial topics.

Use these specialized searches to find full-text editorials in the library's databases:

In ProQuest, use the Document Type limiter. There are two ways to do that.
- Scroll down the Advanced Search screen to Document Type and click the box by Editorial:

Here is the second method. Either works:

In Academic Search Complete, use editorials as a Subject Term:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

Local News & Opinion

See what's happening locally! Read news and opinion.

The Pro/Con section of CQ Researcher articles

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window

CQ Research: Pro/ Con section

Most articles in the library's CQ Researcher database contain a section called Pro/Con. This section poses an arguable question and presents two reasoned answers:

NOTE: You can also browse CQ Researcher's Pro/Con sections by topic.

CQ Researcher: Browse Pro/Con Sections by Topic

Editorials/Op-Eds: Alternative Press

Find opinion in the alternative press

You can go straight to the alternative press too.

Read editorials and commentary in:

Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.

The Existing Argument

Understand the Debate

Many Science, Technology and Nature topics are the subject of debate. Some of it is uninformed, but some of that debate is backed with credible evidence.

Use research tools on this page to develop your understanding of the debate and to find possible counter arguments to your position.

Reading others' views and arguments may point you to evidence, but ultimately the argument you formulate must be uniquely yours.