Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Films on Demand database
Use the library's Films on Demand database to find short educational films on the countries and cultures of the world.
A few of FoD's thousands of films:
Note: If Films on Demand will not open through your Canvas classroom, you can go there directly to search and view films (use the link at the top of this box).
Library Databases for Cultural Research
Culturegrams (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Click the maps in the World Edition to zoom in on facts and statistics about societies and cultures anywhere in the world. Cultural information, statistics, and more for nearly 200 countries and all states in the U.S.
Click on maps to zoom in or follow links for:
- customs and courtesies
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles featuring global viewpoints on international issues, country reports, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and more
World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles, primary sources, and reference books covering world history from antiquity to the present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text and abstracts for communication journals covering all related disciplines including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
ORBIS - Map of the Roman World
ORBIS - Stanford Map of the Roman World
ORBIS "reconstructs the time cost and financial expense associated with a wide range of different types of travel in antiquity. The model is based on a simplified version of the giant network of cities, roads, rivers and sea lanes that framed movement across the Roman Empire. "