HIST 215 Women in US History (Marshman)

HIST& 215 critically examines historical fashion and ideals of beauty as reflections of contemporary events. This guide will help you complete your History of Dress Research Paper.

Automatic Citation Generator

NoodleTools

Access online tutorials using the links below:

Quick Guide - MLA

Quick Guide - MLA Citation Style

MLA Citation Style

MLA Citation Style

MLA (Modern Language Association) Style is used in Literature, Arts, and Humanities disciplines. Always consult your assignment or ask your instructor for the correct citation style to use

Source: "Introduction to Citation Styles: MLA 9th ed." by CSUDH Library, is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

Learn the basic conventions of citing sources in-text and in a works cited page using the Modern Language Association (MLA) Style, 9th edition.

Source: "MLA Citations: Understanding Containers" by sc4library, is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

Learn how to use containers when citing resources in MLA style.

Basic Formula For MLA Works Cited Citations (with example)

Basic Formula For MLA Works Cited Citations
(with example)


Include as much of the following as possible:
Author. Title of Source. Title of Container, Contributors, Version, Number, Publisher, Publication Date, Location. Date Accessed.
Part of the Formula Examples and Explanation Example of article citation from a database
Author. •    one author: Last Name, rest of name as presented in the source. (example: Williams, Fred Laurence.)
•    two authors: reverse name of first author followed by a comma, then second author’s first name and then last name. (example: Cordell, Barbara, and Jane Buckle.)
•    more than two authors: reverse the name of the first author, follow with a comma and et al.  (example: Browne, Charlene, et al.) 		 Cordell, Barbara, and Jane Buckle.
Title of Source.

• Put name of source in italics.
• HOWEVER, if citing an article or only part of the source, instead put that title in quotation marks with no italics: “Article Name.”

 "The Effects of Aromatherapy on Nicotine Craving on a U.S. Campus: A Small Comparison Study."
Title of Container,

• When the source is part of a larger whole, the larger whole can be thought of as a container (example: a whole book is a container for a book chapter)
• Put the title of the container in italics (if you have cited an article or part of the whole source container)

 Journal of Alternative & Complementary Medicine,
Contributors, Example: edited by,  
Version, Example: 7th ed.,  
Number, Any numbered sequence. Example: vol. 3, no. 7 vol. 19, no. 8,
Publisher, (however, no publisher is required for articles)  
Publication date, date as given on source but following this date style: 28 Jan. 2020, 1 Aug. 2013,
Location.

• Example of website: www.cnn.com do not include http:// in the URL
• Example of chapter pages in a hardcopy book: pp. 250-259.
• Example of article from database: pp. 195-212. ProQuest Research Library, https://doi.org/10.3149/jmh.1203.195.
**if no “DOI,” include stable URL or “permalink” without the http://

 pp. 709-13. ProQuest Research Library, https://doi:10.1089/acm.2012.0537.

 

Verbal Citations in Speeches and Presentations

What should you include in a verbal citation?

When you give a speech...

(click on image to enlarge)

image of caption bubble with this info: You do not want a verbal citation to interrupt the flow of speech by giving too many details for example, it would be unnecessary to list the page number, volume and issue number of a journal article but you need to give enough details so that your audience knows where the information came from, who the author is and what their credentials are, and often how current the information is

Why cite sources verbally?

  • to convince your audience that you are a credible speaker.  Building on the work of others lends authority to your presentation
  • to prove that your information comes from solid, reliable sources that your audience can trust.
  • to give credit to others for their ideas, data, images (even on PowerPoint slides), and words to avoid plagiarism.
  • to leave a path for your audience so they can locate your sources.

 

What are tips for effective verbal citations?

Examples:

When citing books:

  • Ineffective: “Margaret Brownwell writes in her book Dieting Sensibly that fad diets telling you ‘eat all you want’ are dangerous and misguided.” (Although the speaker cites and author and book title, who is Margaret Brownwell?  No information is presented to establish her authority on the topic.)
  • Better: “Margaret Brownwell, professor of nutrition at the Univeristy of New Mexico , writes in her book, Dieting Sensibly, that …” (The author’s credentials are clearly described.)

When citing Magazine, Journal, or Newspaper articles

  • Ineffective: “An article titled ‘Biofuels Boom’ from the ProQuest database notes that midwestern energy companies are building new factories to convert corn to ethanol.” (Although ProQuest is the database tool used to retrieve the information, the name of the newspaper or journal and publication date should be cited as the source.)
  • Better: “An article titled ‘Biofuels Boom’ in a September 2010 issue of Journal of Environment and Development” notes that midwestern energy companies…” (Name and date of the source provides credibility and currency of the information as well as giving the audience better information to track down the source.)

When citing websites

  • Ineffective: “According to generationrescue.org, possible recovery from autism includes dietary interventions.” (No indication of the credibility or sponsoring organization or author of the website is given)
  • Better: “According to pediatrician Jerry Kartzinel, consultant for generationrescue.org, an organization that provides information about autism treatment options, possibly recovery from autism includes dietary interventions.” (author and purpose of the website is clearly stated.)

Note: some of the above examples are quoted from: Metcalfe, Sheldon. Building a Speech. 7th ed. Boston: Wadsworth, 2010. Google Books. Web. 17 Mar. 2012.

Why Cite?

Why Cite?

When you present research, you participate in an informed conversation.

You cite your sources, in order to:

  • Give credit to others for their ideas, data, images and words.
  • Give weight to your analysis or opinion. Building on the work of others adds credibility to your words.
  • Leave a path your audience can follow.

Be sure to cite your sources in your papers, image captions, and presentations!

Citation LibGuide

Still have citation questions? Check the more extensive guide dedicated to citations:

Tags: fashion, gender