LibGuides: LSAMP: Research in STEM: Find Current Scholarship on your Topic

How to Identify, Find, Use, & Cite Scholarly Journal Articles

This video tutorial created by a Holman Librarian talks about scholarship in all disciplines. It addresses:

These databases will help you find scholarly journals that are often not freely accessible on the internet.

Holman Library Databases by Subject
See all of the library's database collections, sorted by subject area. This list is a good place to see the entire list of electronic article resources available in a specific field. You will need to log in with your GRC email address and password to access off-campus.

Please note:

Discipline-specific databases may have a mix of scholarly and non-scholarly sources.
Databases offer a mix of primary research and scholarly analysis. Use appropriate filters, keywords, and subject terms and then assess your results.

Use the Holman Library One Search to search for peer reviewed journal articles across all databases at once.

Use the limiters in the menu to select Peer Reviewed Journals only for articles.
Keep in mind that books can be scholarly too. Assess each book individually. Check authors, publishers, content, references determine if a book is scholarly.

Search across all library databases in One Search.

To find scholarly sources, select the Peer Reviewed Journals limiter in the menu.
To expand your search beyond our collection, check the box: Include results with no online full text and request through InterlibraryLoan

The following databases are a good place to start your research. They carry trade, scholarly, and popular sources.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Science and Technology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A resource for applied and general sciences. Search for articles on Physics, Engineering, Astronomy, Biology, Earth Science, Chemistry and more. Includes Research Library: Science & Technology and SciTech Premium Collection.

Complete list of journals in Holman Library databases or print by title:

All Journals List - Print & Electronic
Search for a journal by its title (leave off "The," "A," "An" at the beginning of titles).

Scholarly journals advance our knowledge in a field of study.

May share original research
Authored by credentialed experts in the scholarly field
In-depth analyses of topics
Abstract that summarizes the article. Read to determine relevance!
Explanation of methodology and materials, so that study findings are transparent and may be reproduced
Discussion of study and results
Literature cited section
In-text citations or notes
Use technical, specialized vocabulary