Find Scholarly Books

Books can be scholarly too, but you need to ask and assess: Is this scholarly?

Find print & ebooks:

Go right to eBooks (which is a good bet for scholarly books):

Questions to Ask to Assess if a Book is Scholarly

Books can be scholarly too! How can you tell? 

A scholarly book will: 

• Be written by an expert or experts in the field (PH.D., M.D., etc preferred)
• Usually present new research or analysis of previous research
• Often be printed by a University Press
• Written for an academic audience and purpose, rather than a popular audience
• Include extensive references to other scholarly work

While you can limit a search for articles to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals, you cannot do the same with books. 

You can, however,

• Use the library’s online catalog to look for scholarly books: 
• Read the record for the author and publisher. Are their credentials academic?
• Many of our scholarly books are eBooks. That gives you a chance to check for:
  • Author's credentials (and are there multiple authors even?)
  • Publisher's credentials
  • Academic language and subject matter
  • In-depth analysis
  • In-text citations
  • Thorough and exhaustive references 

• Most of the world’s library catalogs are available at www.worldcat.org
• Use WorldCat to search for scholarly books we don't have at Holman Library. Use InterLibrary Loan to borrow scholarly books and articles from other libraries. You can also look online at what's available at local universities like PLU, UPS, UW, UW Tacoma, etc.

Identifying a Scholarly Book

How can you tell if a books is scholarly?

Below are some important indicators to help.

As shown in the image below, you can see that...

• Scholarly books have academic language and often, a complex title.
• They will often have multiple, academic authors
• And the publisher will be an academic one, often a University Press

(click on image to enlarge)

• Here you see the author's academic credentials are established at the front of the book. You will see information showing their experience and works, such as the long list of articles show here, written by the primary author. 

(click on image to enlarge)

• While not overly reliant on academic jargon, the scholarly intent of the book is apparent in the table of contents.

(click on image to enlarge)

• Scholarship is an ongoing conversation in which academics build on and respond to the ideas of others. Their extensive use of in-text citations indicates where this author references and builds on the work of other researchers and scholars.

(click on image to enlarge)

• You will also see that the book clearly cites it sources throughout the book, but also in the book's bibliography. Here, you can see that this bibliography is 20 pages long. This indicates that the author has clearly used and built on the ideas of others in the field, other scholarship.

(click on image to enlarge)

Using Subject Terms

Sometimes it's hard to know what search terms to use. Let the databases help. Browse Subject Terms to find the most relevant and precise search terms. Subject Terms are particularly useful when searching for scholarly literature.

Strategy 1:

Do a keyword search and review / look for subject terms under the articles.

Strategy 2:

Explore possible subject terms in the limiter.

Strategy 3:

Browse the Thesaurus.

• Click on Subjects.
• Type in your starting Keyword (I typed in housing)
• Browse the list for words/concepts that address different facets of your topic. 
• Build a search by checking the box by a concept you want to search.
• Focus your search using AND / OR.
• You can add keywords to refine your search.

Be a power researcher!

Full Text

ProQuest, Academic Search Complete, and other research databases include article abstracts and citation information without full text. This is useful to you as a researcher!

You may check the box for Full Text only results, but if you leave it unchecked, you will learn about highly relevant articles that you can track down elsewhere, whether in another GRC database or in WorldCat.

You can borrow articles we do not have in full text for free through Interlibrary Loan.

To track down the full text:

• In your results list, click on Check for Full Text in other sources. That will either:

  • Link directly to the article in another Holman Library database

OR

• Provide a link to InterLibrary Loan. Click on the InterLibrary Loan link to borrow the article from another library. Articles are generally available electronically and they will be emailed to you quickly.

(Click on image to enlarge)

Citation "Mining"

Effective researchers "mine" or look through the references of a relevant book or article to find additional sources for their own research. This can be a productive technique!

To track down sources from a references list:  

• Type the title of the source into search box of the library's One Search Tool.
• Put the title in "quotes" to keep all the words together. If the title is very long, you might do best with just the first part.
• If we have it, you'll find it easily this way. If we don't have it, you can use InterLibrary to borrow it for free.

(click on image to enlarge)

Other places you can search...

Use the links below to look for books, articles and more beyond our collection:

Using the Interlibrary Loan Service

InterLibrary Loan: No library has it all! But the InterLibrary Loan (or ILL) is a service offered by Holman Library for borrowing books and articles from other libraries. InterLibrary Loan requests are free to current GRC students, faculty and staff.

For your research, it is important to search many places.

• First, start with the books and articles available through the Holman Library.

• Then, If you find books and articles that the Library does NOT have access to, just request them through Interlibrary Loan.

• Using Interlibrary Loan increases the amount of resources available to you and helps you become a more thorough researcher.

Note:

• Books and other items that require mailing may take 1-2 weeks.

• Articles and other digital items may arrive within 2-5 days. Use your email as your contact info and the article will be sent directly to you.

If you need help filling out this form, call the library reference desk at (253) 931-6480.