LibGuides: ENGL 251: Asian American Literature: Find Literature Criticism

Why read Scholarly Criticism?

For sustained and deeper literary criticism, find relevant scholarly articles in library databases.

Think of scholarship as a conversation - a conversation between critic, text, and other critics. Use the Works Cited to track down sources engaged by a critic.

Build your own conversation, integrating sources and voices that participate in your original analysis.

The Explicator is a literary criticism journal that offers brief close readings and analysis of select literary texts.

Search The Explicator for analysis of your texts and for examples of how academics interpret works of literature.

The Explicator
Find models of explication and critics with whom to engage in the literary criticism journal, The Explicator. Full Text from 1985-Current

To find relevant and useful articles, you will need to consider many more.

See the illustration below:

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search for literary work overviews and author biographies plus scholarly literary criticism and analysis of authors and their works - novels, short stories, poetry, and drama including Shakespeare plays.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search 2,000 full-text scholarly peer-reviewed journals in Science, Social Sciences, Humanities and Health Sciences

Holman Library One Search (Advanced Search)
Use the advanced search options to select source type (books, videos, scholarly peer-reviewed articles), online format, date ranges and more .
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search
Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search the web for peer-reviewed article and book citations. You can use these citations to track down the items at Green River or request them by Interlibrary Loan.

click on image to enlarge

Books may be scholarly, though since we cannot limit to Peer Reviewed Scholarly sources for books, you need to assess each book individually.

Look for depth of analysis, credentials, tone, and other characteristics of scholarly journal articles.
To find, try typing in author, title of a work, idea AND literature criticism, literary criticism or criticism.

Limit to book/ ebooks as needed.